Final Cut Pro 4 requires 16 gigs for install?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clubmedia, Jun 9, 2003.

  1. clubmedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Location:
    delaware
    #1
    i got this in from ken stone.


    i know we have big hard drives now, but that is the biggest amount i have seen a program require yet
     
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    thats only if you want the soundtrack stuff and livetype. but it gets even better, you have to have a dvd rom to install.

    iJon
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    FCP 4 is so big because it's almost like 4 programs rolled into one. Livetype, soundtrack, compressor, and Cinema Tools could all be stand alone programs but they are now all part of FCP 4. Much of that space though is taken up by media associated w/ Livetype and soundtrack.


    Lethal
     
  4. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #4
    If this happens to be so, whew, thank goodness for that second 120GB HD.
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    Well, there's one way to make it pirate proof, make it so damn big that even high-speed internet will take a week to download it :p :p :p :p
     
  6. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #6
    True dat. Tho I wouldn't doubt there will be some unscrupulous individuals who will attempt the dirty deed done dirty cheap!<--ACDC!
     
  7. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    I was thinking about that too but, don't worry, that mean that you may get see a pirate copy just a week later than you expected.

    I still with FCP2, it is avery good soft.
     
  8. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #8
    wow, looks like my 800 mhz (40 GB) powerbook isn't getting this. So much for me and mobile editing in FCP4.....
     
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Just get some more Firewire drives. You should have them already if you are cutting on a laptop.


    Lethal
     
  10. clubmedia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Location:
    delaware
    #10
    still debating an upgrade g4 processor...
     
  11. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #11
    Is the install 16 GB?

    I know it's supposed to be, like, 4 DVDs. I just thought that was for the extras. Royalty free tracks, effects, and rest of the extra stuff already mentioned. Maybe some stuff we don't even know about yet.

    If it's 16 GB, it better have some good compression. DV takes ~13 GB for an hour. MP4 abilites maybe?

    Or can FCP 3 already do that?
     
  12. ear2ear macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    The "thousands" (?) of loops available in Soundtrack must play a huge part in that overall size. I imagine one can choose to not install this segment of the program.
     
  13. crassusad44 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #13
    You can still do a minimum install (1GB) and use Offline RT for editing on your PB, and transfer to a PM later. 40 GB is nothing for the Pro video user anyway...
     
  14. Pismo macrumors 6502

    Pismo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    NH
    #14
    Can you imagine how long it'll take for 16 gigs of data to be installed on your hard drive? CRAZY! I thought the Developer Tools took a while to install and that's only 1.2 gigs. It'll probably take a while to start FCP4 up for the first time too. My 2 cents.
     
  15. sabbath999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    rural Missouri
    #15
    Here's what the box says

    Thanks to Apple Store shipping it to me early, I have the box right here... says on the side 1GB of disk space require for application installation, 5 gb space required for Soundtrack content and 9 gb space required for LiveType content.

    I am still at work, I have not installed it yet (it's for home), so we will see how it goes.
     
  16. macphisto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    At home
    #16
    Now that is my kinda program! 16 Gigs,...beautiful. Good thing most video guys have massive amounts of storage space.

    So here is a trivia question, does anyone have an answer? What is the largest installed piece of piece of software? Excluding all os. Well, okay that and os? Final Cut must rank up there in the top 100. :)
     

Share This Page