final cut pro and quicktime pro

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Foxer, Mar 21, 2003.

  1. Foxer macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    This may have been covered before I joned the group, but here goes. FCP comes with the codes to unlock the pro features in QT. However, the codes only work with QT5, and I'm using QT6. When I try to enter them, it tells me that my codes are for an older version of QT. Having just spent a mint on FCP, I'm not happy that I may have to spring for QT pro. Anyone know anything about this?
     
  2. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #2
    well since you technicaly already paid for a copy of quicktime pro, but it doesnt work, you could always download a code from Lime Wire...

    aethier

    PS: as a "last" resort..
     
  3. Foxer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Call me insufferably nieve, but I didn't know that sort of thing was on limewire. I thought it was all mp3s and porn.
     
  4. conceptdev macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #4
    QT Pro is only 29.95 a pitence compared to FCP however if it is a matter of principle call apple and explain it to them. In any case you should probably stop talking about warez etc because it is against board policy and the moderators seem overworked as of late.
     
  5. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #5
    i'm not sure of apple's policy about it, since fcp came out before qt 6 was out... but you do get qt pro with fcp, so by all means you should get it whether it's 6 or 5 in my opinion.

    just call apple. no need to get into warez for this
     
  6. Jaykay macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Yeah, i agree, ring em up im sure they will have no problem.
     
  7. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    See my post about exactly this subject. I hope they will be as helpful to you as they were to me.
     
  8. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
    It is prohibited to discuss about Hotline, Limewire or anything that cover software piracy in Macrumors.
     
  9. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #9
    not that this is the place for it. but it's not prohibited to discuss it in general, as far as how you feel about piracy and such. but going into specifics, giving out links to hacks or whatever, is not allowed.

    good call dr. q. looks like it shouldn't be a problem. let us know how it works out foxer
     
  10. Mblazened macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    The Valley
    #10
    Its possible

    You can still use quicktime pro 5 serial numbers even when you have quicktime 6 installed. Just make sure you register quicktime first, then final cut pro.
     
  11. trebblekicked macrumors 6502a

    trebblekicked

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #11
    my situation was even easier than dr. q's to fix.

    i bought FCP3/DVDSP in nov. there are different version requirements for QTP for each, and i only had QT5 keys. I called the FCP-section of applecare. it's free for the first 60 days after you buy the software (after that, it's expensive as hell). The person there took some info, emailed me QT6 keys the next day. no problem. give them a call.
     
  12. Foxer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #12
    Called applecare this afternoon and was told they would be e-mailing me a new key this today. It helped that I had orderd FCP from the apple.com store, because that provided them the "proof of purchase" that they claimed to need.
     

Share This Page