Final Cut Pro Crashing on Startup

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by drennan, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I haven't used FCP for a few months and now it crashes when it gets to the choose setup window. I'm not sure if an update has caused this. I have removed FCP and prefs etc and reinstalled and same problem. If anyone can help it would be appreciated as i dont know where to start. here is the last part of the crash log. Thanks guys, Dren.

    /System/Library/Components/VCH263Codec.component/VCH263Codec
    0x9fe78000 - 0x9fe7afff Motion /Library/Frameworks/Motion.framework/Versions/A/Motion
    0x9fe7c000 - 0x9fec8fff ProMediaIO /Applications/Final Cut Pro.app/Contents/Frameworks/ProMediaIO.framework/Versions/A/ProMediaIO
    0x9fefe000 - 0x9ff84fff ProMediaIOClasses /Applications/Final Cut Pro.app/Contents/Frameworks/ProMediaIOClasses.framework/Versions/A/ProMediaIOClasses
    0x9ffc5000 - 0x9ffc5fff ProMediaIOUnit /Applications/Final Cut Pro.app/Contents/Frameworks/ProMediaIOUnit.framework/Versions/A/ProMediaIOUnit
    0x9ffc7000 - 0x9ffe9fff com.apple.AVCVideoServices 1.0 (28) /Applications/Final Cut Pro.app/Contents/Frameworks/AVCVideoServices.framework/Versions/A/AVCVideoServices


    I also get this if I open the console after the crash:

    CAUPlugin::Construct (/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/prosoniq/PROSONIQ OrangeVocoder Carbon)
    CAUPlugin::Destruct (/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/prosoniq/PROSONIQ OrangeVocoder Carbon)
    CAUPlugin::Construct (/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/prosoniq/PROSONIQ OrangeVocoder Carbon)
    CAUPlugin::Destruct (/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/prosoniq/PROSONIQ OrangeVocoder Carbon)
    com.apple.FinalCutPro
    swapped from compile threadHardware not found.
    Hardware not found.
    swapped from compile threadHardware not found.
    swapped from compile threadJun 12 19:20:20 Powerbook crashdump903: Final Cut Pro crashed
    Jun 12 19:20:21 Powerbook crashdump903: crash report written to: /Users/rich/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/Final Cut Pro.crash.log
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks. It looks like this program is for backing up and restoring your FCP prefs if the program keeps crashing, so you dont lose your settings. My problem is that I cant get into FCP to start with so I don't need a backup of my prefs at this stage. Thanks
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #4
    No, actually its for trashing your settings and corrupt prefs that keep crashing FCP. Open the app. Choose trash. Open FCP.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Ah ok, sorry. I thought that because when i open FCP rescue, all the options are disabled. The screen says 'no settings, no backup'. Any ideas why this is? Thanks for the info, i hope i can get this to work.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #6
    I linked to the rescue for Final Cut 6, the new one in Studio 2. If you're running Final Cut 5, or earlier check the links on the right of that page for the other rescues. They're all version specific.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Thanks. yeah i'm using FCP V5 and downloaded FCP rescue for this version. Its weird. I'm thinking something is up with part of the OS as i've reinstalled FCP after cleaning all traces of it as the apple website recommends. Repaired permissions etc too. Its also weird how FCP rescue isn't seeing any preferences on my machine. Any other ideas would be really appreciated as I need to learn this program asap. I've got the FCP suite installed, I might try removing the whole lot and reinstalling incase a related app is affecting it. Dren.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #8
    Hi there, I am using FCP 7 and having this error. Any clue what its about or how i can fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page