Final Cut Pro HD 4.5 won't import

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by halibutgrove, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #1
    I'm trying to import .mp4 and .mov files into FCP but I'm getting a

    "File error: 1 files(s)recognized, 0 access denied, 1 unknown"

    when I use the import function.

    If I just try dragging the file in the FCP I get:

    "File Error: Unknown File.


    The .mov files open in quick time with no problem. I reinstalled FCP but that didn't help. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    That happens when you try to import an unsupported codec into FCP. Assuming the files are HD I would transcode them into DVCPro HD. FCP 4.5 is very, very old so your options are pretty limited.

    Try using MPEG Streamclip to do the transcoding.


    Lethal
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    .mp4 files use H.264 as codec, which is NOT an editing codec. The .mov file can use H.264 as codec too, thus analyse the .mov file via Use VideoSpec, MediaInfo Mac or MediaInfo to analyse that video and report back.

    Your files should be using .mov as container and Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) or ProRes as codec.
    You can use MPEG Streamclip for transcoding to that.


    ____________________________________________________________

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find dozens of threads explaining how to use MPEG Streamclip or what formats are accepted by FCP:
    [​IMG]
    ____________________________________________________________


    ----------

    Why DVCPro HD and not ProRes?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    IIRC ProRes didn't exist that time. h.264 did neither.
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    FCP 4.5 is so old it predates Apple Intermediate Code, ProRes and HDV. DVCPro HD, though, is supported natively.


    Lethal
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Didn't know that, thanks. :eek:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #7
    Thanks for the advice! Your suggestions worked great.
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Glad to hear you are up and running now. Thanks for letting us know the problem got fixed.

    Sometimes people never come back so we don't know if our suggestions helped or not.:eek:


    Lethal
     

Share This Page