Final Cut Pro (Hung)... Why?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MIDI_EVIL, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    After only 5 - 10 minutes of capturing some DV footage, FCP 4.5 HD Hangs, and causes hangs on Finder too.

    In the Log and Capture window, it says, Warning: Capture limited to 30 minutes.


    Why does it only let me capture 5 - 10 minutes before totally freezing up?

    My capture scratch is a 160 GB LaCie FW 800 drive, and I have 1GB of RAM, with more than half completely free!

    It's a 1.67 PowerBook G4.


    Thanks for any help.

    Rich.
     
  2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    Are there lots of gaps in your footage? It could be looking for timecode all the time..

    I'd trash your preferences as well.

    Your machine is plenty capable of capturing footage, it could just be the footage.
     
  3. MIDI_EVIL thread starter macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    The thing is, even though that should make sense, it has done this forever.

    I have never been able to just let it capture whilst fixing a drink or on the phone, I have to manually escape the capture, about 5 - 10 mins in, or it'll crash.

    It's been like that for 18 months, but today it really REALLY pushed me over the edge.

    Rich.
     
  4. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #4
  5. MIDI_EVIL thread starter macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    That sounds great!

    Do you have a link for the FCP 4.5 HD version?

    Rich.
     

Share This Page