final cut pro on iMac g5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by armonu, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #1
    is it possible to work with final cut pro on iMac g5 2.0 ghz 128mb video
    i going to buy that,and don't know if it's worth!!!
    could somebody help me?? :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    #2
    It should work fine, I ran FCP 4.5 on an iMac G5 1.8GHz Rev. A and it worked well. It will not be as fast as a new iMac but it'll get the job done.
    Can I ask what type of work you'll be doing on FCP and what version you plan on using?

    JohnMC
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #3
    i'm not sure i'm going to use fcp!! some work with editing videos! some short movies! in one studio of art(theater)
     
  4. SMM
    macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #4
    I have ran FCP on a 17" 1.5 G4 Powerbook. Not the way I would want to earn a living, but it worked well enough to do editing. You will obviously take a hit when compressing and rendering. Overall, it will work well enough to produce a fine product.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Works just fine no worries, storage becomes a problem. You can't add additional hard drives internally, you have to get external firewire hard drives if you need more space.

    The iMac G5 is fine for FCP.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #6
    i think it should be fine with a space! 250gb
    it's used and quite cheap!
     
  7. macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England

Share This Page