Final Cut Studio 6?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by whoooaaahhhh, Mar 25, 2006.

1. whoooaaahhhh macrumors member

whoooaaahhhh

Any thing on the rumor mill about Final Cut Studio 6? I heard something a little while back that there were going to be two Final Cut packages at NAB. The Regular Final Cut for its regular price around 1299, and then another package around 3000-5000, that would have new programs designed especially for Digital Intermediate work. Heard this from a fairly reliable source, don't quote me on the prices, and no it wasn't anyone at apple!

2. 748s macrumors 6502a

748s

Think Secret had something on final cut extreme and fcp 6.
    If any updates or new products are coming N.A.B. would be the place to release them.

3. whoooaaahhhh thread starter macrumors member

whoooaaahhhh

Just as I suspected

Thanks man, sounds just like what I expected. As an editor, I hope that this will finally unseat AVID as king in the industry. It'll be interesting to see what the hardware requirements are now with the intel switch, since Mac Pros might not be out until August! Who knows!

4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Nothing like reliable rumors... Think Secret's cost for the "high end" version of Final Cut is 2-3 times more than your "reliable source" and, based on everything I've read about Red Think Secret's price of "upwards of $200,000" is way off the mark.

IMO, some things FCP is really lacking compared to Avid is a robust media manager and the multi project/multi user environment. While a hi-end finishing app would add to the "wow" factor of Final Cut and give an easier path to hi-end finishing, I hope Apple addresses some of the less glamorous, but still important short comings of FCP.

Lethal

5. virus1 macrumors 65816

virus1

you mean final cut pro 6? or final cut studio 3?

6. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

pdpfilms

I think we all know what he's talking about.

7. Danksi macrumors 68000

Danksi