Final Cut Studio or Express

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shadowfayre, Feb 23, 2006.

1. shadowfayre macrumors member

Greetings,

I am a new transplant Mac person. I have been using PCs for ages. Anyways, I decided to get a Mac (MacBook Pro) as I plan on doing a lot of video editting. I looked at the Apple site to get a comparison on the Express vs the Pro; there is alot added to the Pro version. And with Studio (since that is all you can get now) you get additional software as well.

Now, I realize that FC does not work on the MacBook Pro, but a univerisal version is coming in March. That is fine. Gives me a month to figure out the Mac anyways. The question is regarding the purchase of the software. I am a college student and at this point I can purchase the studio for 699, I also read that Apple is providing a crossgrade upgrade from any of the pro editions. I can still purchase Soundtrack Pro (299) and that would put me on the upgrade availablity (199up+299STpro or 500bucks). This would save me 199 bucks and I get the full retail version vs a student edition that I would not be able to use after college. This seems to be the best choice.

However, here is where I stand. The Final Cut Express HD is 299. It seems to have most of what I would need. However, there is no word on an Express version being available in UB.

For the most part I would be a consumer-pro and at this point the work I do is for family, friends and my church. I want high quality stuff, and right now I plan on getting either a Sony HD Cam or the Canon HD (XR-HD1, I believe). Of course, that all depends on cash availablity. So with the cam that I considering, would I be better getting the Studio with one of the options above or holding off for an express HD in UB format?

Thanks!

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan