Final Cut with dual monitors

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Bob Jovi, Jan 18, 2007.

  1. Bob Jovi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I was just wondering if anyone here runs final cut with 2 screens and if it is worth it, productivity wise?
    As all the windows seem to fit nicely onto the 1 screen setup.
    thanks
     
  2. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #2
    For me it's a must, especially when doing color correcting and you want your scopes and frame viewer up large and your video at full res. It takes a while to get used too two screens but i won't go back, on large projects having the browser full screen is the only way to go.
     
  3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #3
    After working with dual screens...you really can't go back.


    ...Unless it is for a 30", that would be sweet.
     
  4. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #4
    better yet just have two 30" :) That way you can see your HD clips coming into the timeline and the timeline full size with out needing a studio monitor.
     
  5. VideoTour macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    You can never have too much screen real estate (twin 30" 's would be far beyond sweet, but just a touch on the pricey side, huh?)

    I have several options preset (beyond those FCP already offers) under the Windows/Arrange function.
    One I've titled "Big Browser" and the other is "Big Timeline."
    Dedicating a full monitor to either of these views makes working with large projects and many, many bins (Big Browser) or elaborate multi-track timelines (Big Timeline) so much easier.
    I often find myself shuttling between the two views on large projects.
    And when I'm working on the MBPro I really notice how much I miss the two screens.
     
  6. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #6
    You know, I thought that when I got the 30" I wouldn't need two screens, but I find that it is always better to have more space.

    What I really want is a 4K native screen so I never have to worry about things fitting in one space.
     
  7. Mavimao macrumors 6502a

    Mavimao

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    #7
    I only have one screen right now, and I am still capable of editing. However, like everyone else said, it's so wonderful to have that extra screen for a finder window, web browser, timeline, color balancing. It is hard to go back.
     
  8. Suprami X macrumors newbie

    Suprami X

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #8
    I have 2 screens with my G5 and wish I could add a second to my iMac, just to chuck the extra rubbish off onto.

    I recommend the two.
     
  9. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #9
    What imac do you have. I have a dual screen set up with my imac at home.
     
  10. Bob Jovi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I might have to get another Dell 2007WFP as they're on offer at the moment.
    Cheers
     
  11. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Would you all mind posting pictures of your set ups with dual monitors with Final Cut open.

    Preferably have the windows in Final Cut set at your favorite preset.

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page