Final Cut wont start please HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by markjones05, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
    I've been loading about 9 hours of foootage into final cut for this project. Last night final cut froze and I had to force quit. Today it wont open, I double click the app icon and the loading screen comes up but it quits before it opens the program. I erased and reinstalled but the problem is still occurring. all of the other apps in the studio still work such as soundtrack and livetype. I tried repairing permissions on the drive where final cut is installed. I really dont want to reformat and in reality I dont have time to do so due to the quick turn around this job requires. Can anyone help me?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    have you tried trashing the .plist file for the app?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    No. How do I do that? And what does it do?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    well the .plist file hold all of your preferences for that programme. if you have deleted the programme by just dragging the app to the trash, i beleive that the .plist file will still remain and when you have reinstalled the programme, it is stil using the same preferences file (which could be the root of the problem).

    if you are on tiger, in spotlight search for final cut.plist (or what ever the proper name of the app is, or something like that).

    the file you wil want will be something like com.apple.final cut.plist just drag this to the trash, and delete. then the nest time you start up the programme, it will create a new .plis file!

    i hope this works for you!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    Ok i did a spotlight search and about 12 results came up. How do I know which one to erase?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    erm!!!

    at the end of the day, deleting all of them would not be the end of the world, just the corresponding programmes will lose their preferences. this may cause an inconvenience in having to re set up programmes as you like them. i would say without seeing what they are called, try and take an educated guess on which one to delete first. maybe the one with the newest create/edit date
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    sorry i have just seen the attached screen grab. i dont know basically which one to delete. maybe do one at once and inbetween try reopening the programme!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8

    It still wont open. Thanx anyway.

    Nice lemon jelly reference.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    Anyone else have any clue? I really need to get the ball rolling on this.
     
  10. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    did u try and restart the whole compute, that might clear out some kinks..
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    Yea...
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    MacFan25863

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #12
    Try trashing the final cut cache in the Documents folder.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #13
    I had this problem once, only for some reason it was confined to one user (mine). Repairing permissions, deleting plist files and clearing the cache did nothing. Took a reinstall to fix it, but to be honest that's not too big of a deal. You won't lose any projects or anything; it just takes a little time to reinstall.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #14

    I already reinstalled.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #15

    That didnt help either.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #16
    some of my other apps are acting up now as well. My photoshop wont open any previos projects... what can be causing these application errors?
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    MacFan25863

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #17
    This is almost starting to sound like hard drive failure. Is your computer acting generally slow? Whats the S.M.A.R.T. status of your drive?

    If I were you, I would start backing stuff up NOW.

    Its more likely to be HD failure if you're on a laptop. Anything else weird about your computer (noises, etc)?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #18
    No i dont have any clicking noises or any abnormal noises usually associated with a bad HD. Im not on a laptop im using a dual 1 ghz g4 powermac. I carbon copied my hd last night to my 2nd HD because it seems more and more likely that a reformat is neccesary. I'd still like to avoid that if its at all possible. More importantly even if i do have to reformat i just wanna know why this happened so i can prevent it in the future.
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #19
    Immediate action drill (in escalating order, for most FCP bomb-outs):

    1. Restart FCP.

    2. Restart the entire system.

    3. Repair permissions.

    4. Use MacJanitor to run the cron scripts.

    5. Use Disk Warrior to verify/repair directories.

    6. Trash FCP prefs (instructions on www.kwnstone.net) then get FCP Rescue if you don't have it.

    7. Reinstall FCP.

    If you already tried all the other suggestions in this post, you may as well go straight to Step 7 since everything is probably in bad disarray.

    FCP is a very demanding app that does a huge amount of work "under the hood." Sometimes it breaks, and random attempts to do a quick fix can cause unpredictable results. The good news is that it seldom loses data.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page