Final Fantasy 14 Beta

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Sharezjek, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    Has anyone tried to install this on a Mac Pro running Vista?
    The launcher crashes everytime I try.
    I've been told it only works on Windows 7 :(
  2. macrumors newbie

    Aug 25, 2010
    i have the same problem on my HP laptop(running windows 7),idk y.
  3. macrumors 68000

    Jun 13, 2004
    I had it running on Vista ultimate before. But my comp (3 years old) failed to even pass the minimum specs, the game requirement is insanely high.
  4. macrumors member

    Dec 22, 2007
    Make sure you have the newest version of DirectX 9.0c. Yes, there is more than one version, which only adds to the confusion.

    Also make sure you have the latest video drivers.
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    I've done all that and it still crashes.

    EDIT : the directx I installed was from June 2010. My dxdiag says I have DX 11
  6. macrumors 68020

    Feb 22, 2006
    Vista and games are a joke when vista came out i downgraded back to XP within a week upgrade to 7 if you can.
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    This is the only game that I have ever had trouble with while using Vista.
    I'm going to wait and see if the release version of FF14 has problems before going to Win 7.
  8. macrumors member

    Dec 22, 2007
    The next big question is, what is the error given when it crashes?
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    Just says "...has stopped working" then boom :(
  10. macrumors newbie

    Sep 4, 2010
    I'm having the same issue .. It crashes immediately after i try to open it on windows 7

    If someone have any idea, let us know please
  11. macrumors member

    Dec 22, 2007
  12. macrumors newbie

    Sep 4, 2010
    downloaded from square enix website the files downloaded were legit

    the windows version is 7 enterprise
  13. macrumors newbie

    Sep 5, 2010
    I am having the exact same problem. running windows 7, everytime I try to run the download client it tells me that the client has stopped working and closes. I am using Parallels to run a virtual machine. Any ideas?!?!?! maybe bootcamp instead of parallels?
  14. macrumors newbie

    Sep 4, 2010
    I'm on bootcamp last update with updated ATI videocard drivers..
    I don't understand what's goin on
  15. macrumors newbie

    Sep 5, 2010
    Hmm... I thought boot camp would work. It might be something about the beta. Hopefully we won't have the same troubles with the actual game. Keep looking for an answer and I will too. Good luck.
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    My Mac Pro is running Win7 64 bit with an ATI 4870 card and it crashes.
    However, my 3 year old PC running XP and Vista (both 32 bit) and a Nvidia 8800GT installs and runs the game fine, albeit a tad slow.

    So, I think it's either a 64bit prob or an ATI one, or maybe a combination of both.

    EDIT : Just an aside. It's not a Mac problem. People on PCs are having the same trouble.
  17. macrumors newbie

    Sep 5, 2010
    I officially have the final fantasy 14 beta running on my macbook pro. I used bootcamp to install windows 7 following step by step instructions from simple help. this is the website.

    it runs extremely smoothly minus lag from the beta server, I have 2.54Ghz intel duo, 4Gb memory, 9400M NVIDIA video card. I hope this helps someone out there just knowing it is possible!
  18. zjb
    macrumors newbie

    Aug 28, 2009
    Druster, would you mind posting your FFXIV settings that are allowing you to get smooth frame rates? I'm curious to know since I could definitely use some better performance.

  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    Well I finally got the game to install on my Mac Pro and it runs smooth as silk.
    Someone on the FFXIVCore forums posted a way to change the boot.exe so that it will launch.

    Happy now :)
  20. macrumors member

    Dec 19, 2006
    Mine crashed every time in VMWare Fusion, but in Win7 via BootCamp it worked right away... I think I chose "Run as Administrator" just to be safe. The connectivity of the quasi-BitTorrent downloader/installer was awful though, took almost all day to download, and the files weren't even THAT big.

    This was on an 08 Mac Pro (2x 2.8GHz quadcores, 2GB RAM, 8800GT w/ latest NVidia drivers)

    Ran pretty smooth on the default windowed settings too (weird that it was set to windowed mode by default). Not a big fan of the game though to be honest.
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2010
    Fair enough, it's not everyone's cup of tea.
    I think what puts most people off is the console-style UI and controls.
    Once I got used to it, it didn't bother me though.
  22. macrumors newbie

    Sep 8, 2010
  23. macrumors newbie

    Sep 25, 2010
    Some updated assistance.

    Ok, so heres where Im sitting. I just pre-ordered two copies of XIV and I've read in plenty of places that support for Mac & Linux was "in mind" when Square developed the game. So, I have a PC and the girlfriend has a Macbook Pro. We both want to play. She has bootcamp, but does not have a copy of the latest Windows OS, since I'd rather die than install Vista on her computer, Im looking at 7.

    The problem is this. And I ask this at the mercy of the Mac users. How do I make it so that she can play XIV on her computer, without loss of gameplay quality and without having to spend over 100 dollars on software just to play a game.

    My honest hopes are that come time of the standard release, that Square will have a solution to this, seeing as how newborn MMO's need all the technical support they can get (why would you single out macs when you need to start with a firm and expansive playerbase to even get off the ground?) So, hopefully that will occur, but until then and if possible to keep me posted, How do I make this work?
  24. macrumors member

    Aug 15, 2010
    I'm having the same problem. I can update the patch D2010.09.18.0000 and then install it...then when it tries to relaunch FFXIV.exe.......Crash..... Error: FFXIV.exe has stopped working.

    Gah, went out and upgraded to the 5770 and get another smack in the face by SE >.>
  25. macrumors 65816


    Nov 5, 2009
    So I've been reading around that people are playing on the 2.66 i7 512mb 330m Macbook Pro on standard-high settings. This blows my mind. Im on the same mbp and have to set every single option to low and put my res to 1200x800 or something grossly low to get it to run smooth.

    what am i doing wrong?

Share This Page