Final Fantasy XI

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Afterworld, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone tried running Playonline and FFXI through boot camp yet? Has Steve answered my prayers? I'm waiting on baited breath for confirmation. I was totally addicted to the game when I owned a Windows laptop, and I've missed it (though not enough to switch back to Windows) ever since I converted. If it works now, with boot camp ... I'm selling my Powerbook and buying a Macbook Pro TODAY. :D
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #2
    Runs like a champ

    LOL...

    This and one other program was the only reason I decided to sell my 12" Powerbook for a new Intel iMac.

    It will run and it runs well. I'm getting some odd tearing in the graphics, but that has nothing to do with the Mac and everything to do with the older FFXI gfx code. I'm still tweaking the video for the optimum settings, but suffice it to say that it's as good as it will ever get on a PC.

    I've got the entire process up on my .Mac page... still working on comparison shots.

    http://web.mac.com/fsewald/

    -Ten
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #3
    Thanks a ton for the reply! I'll be selling my Powerbook for an Intel-eqiupped shortly.

    I love you, Steve Jobs!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4
    A lot of my friends play this and I used to, so I'm installing it again tonight and am gonna give it another go. The sucky part is it has to patch all night. Treasures of Aht Urhgan expansion pack is out tomorrow!


    Steve
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #5
    Couple of tips I've picked up...

    I've used the RegEdit hack to go in and turn on the mipmapping (currently at 3) and upped the bitmap from 1024 x 1024 to 1536 x 1536. I'm capping consistently at 29 FPS using FRAPS (which is the self-imposed cap by the game).

    I can't turn on all effects, you should leave shadows on normal. Otherwise it gets really choppy in the cities or with a lot of characters on the screen. Otherwise everything is cranked.

    The only thing that I'm noticing, is what appears to be a redraw issue when panning around the screen. The framerate is still capped, so it's a software issue of some type. I don't think FFXI was ever intended to run at 1680 x 1050, but I'm going to play with the setting a bit more.

    Any other tips or tricks people pick up, I'm interested

    -Ten
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #6

    Have you tried using the Windower at all? Does that work?


    Steve
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #7
    I'm a firm believer in ToS, so I won't touch the Windower with a 10-foot pole. :D

    I would presume there wouldn't be any issue using it, however YMMV.

    -Ten
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #8
    FFXI for mac patch?

    Hey guys. I love playin FF on my ps2 and HATE it on my pc. I own a mac because I'm a graphic design student. I WANNA PLAY ON MY MAC howwwww!?!?

    please respond.:confused:
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    #9
    powerbooks and FFXI???

    is there anyway under heaven .... anyway at all ....that I can play my FFXI on my powerbook g4...plzzzzzzz tell me how....:confused:
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #10
    Sorry you're out of luck. :-(

    It's not that amazing of a game anyway, but it has its fan.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #11
    hey tensai, i just installed xp on my macbook last night and have been curious about whether or not it would run ffxi (i'm on ps2 right now and tired of it |B) and i'm excited that someone has done it already!

    might i ask how much space you partitioned to windows and how much tweaking you've needed to do to get it to run well if at all? i don't intend to run it as nearly high a resolution as you--about half. should there be much overwhelming tweaking involved or would you say it's pretty simple "out of box" aside from dealing with the xp installation?

    i'll be keeping an eye on your blog, i'm very interested to see how the process goes for ya :)
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #12
    I have more fun playing Guild Wars than I did playing FFXI.

    And Guild Wars is free too.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    #13
    Is it possible to install the game without Windows XP in any way?
     
  14. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Buy a PS2 or Xbox 360 :D
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    #15
    I've been playing it on my PC for about 2 years..;)

    But I want to bring it with me, now that I have bought the new MB. Anyone?

    What is the best choice, Boot Camp or Virtual PC 7?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #16
    Sry for pushing this old thread up

    But is anything new known about FFXI + mac?

    I just bought an iMac and still want to play, without stressing my new iMac too much ^^
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #17
    FFXI on my mac

    I need some help.. Can i run FFXI on my new MacBook?! someone please help!
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    #18
    clarification

    first, to run FFXI on your mac you need three things, #1, you have to have an INTEL mac, #2, you need either bootcamp or parallels, and #3 you need a retail copy of XP /w service pack 2

    Second, Virtual PC does not allow graphic acceleration, this means the vPC7 will not let you play most games,

    now, revisiting on my first point, you can go here;
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303572
    And learn all you need to about running windows on your INTEL Mac

    as a side not, neither method for running XP on your masc are supported by apple, they will assist you in booting back into OSX, or reformatting your drive only, unless your having issues in OSX
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #19
    This is my favorite MMORPG. It's more fun if you have a group of friends to make a static party. I'm running FFXI with Dell 24 Inch 1920 X 1200 with everything Max Out with RegEdit to 2048 X 2048 Resolution and I don't even get lag or slow down. Mac Pro with ATI X1900 will run this just fine! Hope this help.
     
  20. macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #20
    just so i'm clear, can someone break down what this is all about.

    i have an intel mac with bootcamp and xp

    do i need to buy FFXI ? how does one start playing this game?

    Is it free to play online? somehow i doubt it.

    Thanks.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    #21
    Help!

    I am currently using Parallels and have installed all of the Mac Drivers the same way you would using Boot Camp. Everything in windows seems to be working well except FFxi. Everytime I try to load the game it says the following:

    "Terminated as error occured in Final Fantasy XI. Failed to initialize Direct 3D. Please check that this computer has the required specifications to run Final Fantasy XI.(-1)"

    Im not the dumbest when it comes to computers but I am getting to frustrated to figure this out. If anyone can please help I would appreciate it.

    Thanks.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #22
    You will need to get the installer CDs for FFXI and install them on your bootcamp windows partition. You probably can pick the CDs up used for cheap. You then sign up through the game and pay a 15 dollar monthly fee. Sounds pricey, but this is one great game.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #23
    You cannot run FFXI in parallels because it will require 3D acceleration from the graphics card. You will need to use bootcamp if you want to play this or any similar game. There are guides on here for installing bootcamp. Good luck!
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #24
    Problems using Parallels 3.0

    I don't really know exacty if this has been addressed, but i couldn't find it anywhere in the thread. I am running Parallels 3.0 off of a Macbook Pro, and I am having a few problems running ffxi in it. I can get PoL to load perfectly, the problem comes when I try to run ffxi, after I click the Play button from the PoL viewer and it changes resolution sizes the screen image only takes up about 1/4 of the top left part of the screen, and it appears that the only shows the bottom left hand part of what should be shown, meaning that the screen seems to only display a portion of what is runing. Also I have noticed that when it does load the title screen and the character selection screen and finally log into ffxi it has jumbled up images of what was shown previously in the background, i.e. the blue title screen etc.

    Has anyone else had this problem, I've had no problem logging in or getting the actually program to load, its simply a video problem, and a resolution problem I believe.

    Any advice would help thanks.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #25
    There appears to be conflicting information on this page. Are you SURE you can run FFXI on an Intel MacBook Pro with Parallels 3.0? I would absolutely prefer to do this with Parallels over Bootcamp but if it doesn't work, it doesn't work. Can anyone say definitively that you can run FFXI on an Intel Mac with XP SP2 and Parallels?

    Thanks so much.
     

Share This Page