Finally Switching To A Mac: 12 inch iBook vs. Powerbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by bracki, May 10, 2004.

1. bracki macrumors newbie

I've been on a PC for about the past 10 years and am finally making the switch to a Mac (got fed-up with my laptop's terrible battery life).

I'm trying to decide between the 12" iBook and Powerbook. I'm currently a student and could get the 1Ghz iBook for $1000 and the 1.33Ghz Powerbook for $1400 (both without the Superdrive, but with wireless included). I believe the hard drive is also 30GB bigger on the Powerbook.

For the most part I'm going to be doing the basics (e-mail, Excel, Word) and wanted to get the take from this group on whether it makese sense to spend the extra $400. I'm just getting started on a Mac, so I'm hesitant to drop that much extra, but will if it makes sense to do so. I'm not sure how much difference the extra 333 Mhz makes on a Mac....

I'd also read that iDVD only works with Superdrive's. Is this the case? I've got a Windows desktop with a DVD burner already, so I was hesitant to spend an extra $200 if there was a way I could edit with iMovie on my Mac and use my Windows machine to actually make the DVD.

I realize this is a lot of questions, but I want to make sure I get my Mac experience started on the right foot.

Thanks for your help,

Byron

2. DGFan macrumors 6502a

The big question is: are you going to upgrade the HD (30GB is pretty small) and get wireless for the iBook? If you are, it makes sense to spend the little extra money on the PB. Based on the configuration I was looking at, the PB was only $200 more (although I did spend another $200 to get the Superdrive model).

As far as iDVD goes....I know you can save the project on one machine and burn it on another. But without iDVD on windows that won't work. So unless something like Toast will let you pretend to burn it on your Mac you're probably out of luck.

3. Steven1621 macrumors 6502a

Steven1621