"Find my iPhone on" the 3G not updating?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by karlth, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    I've enabled Find my iPhone on my iPhone 3G and it displays on the map within MobileMe and receives messages as directed.

    The problem is that the phone doesn't seem to update its position inspite of saying on the map that it updated "2 minutes ago".

    Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny England
    #2
    Have you refreshed the map?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #3
    Yes.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4

    As noted by "twelve56", Find My iPhone works on demand.

    It doesn't automatically update the iPhone's location on a periodic basis.

    When you go to me.com/find or the iOS App, MobileMe will send a request to your iPhone (or iPad etc.) telling it to work out its location (using GPS if possible) and to send it back to them.

    Once the device works out its location and sends it to MobileMe, it wont do anything else unless you tell Find My iPhone to do something (like refresh the map, Remote Wipe, Lock etc.)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #5
    I'm aware of that. The problem is the location doesn't update at all.

    It is still stuck in one location inspite of me being 20 miles away, holding the phone and going to me.com/find. Still showing the original location.

    I can send a message now problem and the map says it has recently update the location. Yet it stays in the old location.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    Some questions:

    - What sort of network is the iPhone 3G connected to? 2G? 3G? Wi-Fi?
    - If you go in to the Maps app on the phone, where does the phone think it is?
    - How wide is the location accuracy it is giving for your phone?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    3G network with WiFI off. When I tried the Maps app as you recommended the accuracy was approx. the whole city.

    So the lesson seems to be that if it cannot fetch new GPS coords and is not connected to WiFI then it uses the last known GPS location, which in my case was taken a few days ago.

    Thanks Dave. :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #8
    iPhone 3G

    Find my iPhone is only intneded for iPhone 4, iPad, and iPod 4th generation.

    That could be why you are having issues.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #9
    I'd expect it to be able to use the cellular network to determine where it is - a little odd.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #10
    Perhaps it is just a problem with my provider then.
     

Share This Page