Find my iPHone - Remote Wipe

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by onthecouchagain, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    If you ever have to do this, and it wipes everything and "resets it to factory setting" as described on the Apple website, are you essentially giving someone a free iPhone to re-activate?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    Don't they already have a free phone, but with your information on it?
     
  3. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Yes, but it wipes out your ID's and passwords, contacts, everything.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #4
    Right, I guess it's better than nothing.

    There should be a feature that truly locks down the device, making it completely bricked until it's original owner can prove to Apple that its his/her device before they restore it to re-activate. Might help prevent thefts?
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Its better than nothing.
    Its not a full blown security or theft recovery system.
    If its a GSM iphone and lost or stolen anyone can restore it and use it.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    Technically possible, but it's not the sort of thing that Apple likes to do.

    Find My iPhone has some flaws that could so easily be fixed by Apple:

    • It can be turned off without prompting you for your iCloud password
    • You can disable it by turning off Location Services
     
  7. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    You can disable it by popping the sim out or by turning the phone off.
    Or by restoring...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #8
    But would taking the SIM out or restoring the phone essentially wipe out your personal info anyway (thus achieving the point of remote wipe)?

    And if it doesn't, would choosing remote wipe via iCloud do it once the device is turned back on?
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #9
    Taking the SIM out doesn't erase any data, but restoring will erase everything.
     
  10. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    If you take out the sim the phone doesnt restore or wipe anything.
    But if they do a restore it wipes out all your info.
    A remote wipe command will wipe it next time the phone is connected to the internet either by wifi or carrier data. It will tell you when it was wiped if it has been.
    Either way the thief will probably want to get rid of your personal stuff on it and sell it or use it restored.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #11
    Thanks for clarifying all
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #12
    Call your network and police who will blacklist the device.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Wirelessly posted

    Set restrictions to not allow them to turn off location
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #14
    Exactly. Stealing an iPhone is one of the dumbest things anyone can do... Unless they're after a glorified iPod touch!
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #15
    Stealing a phone these days is pretty pointless. The problem its not the thief that will suffer from the lock it'll be the poor sucker who buys the phone off the thief.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    Police can't blacklist a phone and as far as I know ATT won't either

    You think? How so? If it has a sim it can be used without issue. Simply restore and you're good to go.


    Well then lots of thieves walking around with kick ass iPod touches.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #17
    All carriers in the UK do it, and as far as I know it blacklists the devices from being used in all of Europe and North America.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Artimus12

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    YooKay
    #18
    Find my I is pants! JB it and install Cylay! it has:

    1. remote wipe (last resort),

    2: prevent shutdown,

    3. voice recording,

    4. front\rear camera activation,

    5. tracking,

    6. lists numbers called,

    7. reports any sim card number installed,

    8. Hide Cylay (to prevent its removal).

    That's a proper service that Apple could so easily emulate if they wanted.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #19
    Canada, maybe. USA, unfortunately not.

    In any case, the thief will still have the best iPod touch ever made. Less value than a full blown iPhone, but he will still get money from it. My point? Blacklisting doesn't achieve a whole lot.
     
  20. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #20
    Neither of these will disable the feature.

    The next time that the device connects to a network with a suitable data connection (Cellular or Wi-Fi) any pending remote lock, wipe or locate will take place.

    There's a difference between disabling the feature completely, and temporarily stopping it.
     
  21. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    I was explaining that to him earlier.
    But if they pop out the sim dont connect to wifi and just restore it then it will never track or remote wipe. But the restore is like a wipe.
     

Share This Page