Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mindcrime

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 24, 2003
Houston, Texas
I'm new to programming anything and while I can find my way around the CLI and Terminal, I have no idea how to do the following:

Use a comma-delimited text file of terms (A,B) to replace all the A-terms in a folder of TXT files with the B-terms.

For example, if my comma-delimited text file has:

A,B
Foo,foobar
Fod,fodder
Fog,fogger

and then I have a folder of 10 .txt files that contain the A words, is there some kind of script that will go through the comma-delimited file, locate all instances of words from the A column in that folder of 10 text files and then replace them with the contents of the B column?

Thanks for any help!

pallit

macrumors newbie
Sep 19, 2005
Find/Replace

The quickest way I can think of is this:

perl -pi -e 's/find text/replace text/g' *.txt

This will go through all txt files in the current folder and replace "find text" with "replace text"

Pall

pallit

macrumors newbie
Sep 19, 2005
find/replace

This'll probably handle the whole thing for you:

#!/usr/bin/perl

$filename = "name of comma-delimited file";

open(FILE, "<$filename");
while(<FILE>){
chomp($_);
@myWords = split(/,/, $_);
$doIt = `perl -pi -e 's/$myWords[0]/$myWords[1]/g' *.txt`;
}

save it as findrep.pl in a folder along with all your .txt files and the delimited file and run it with: perl findrep.pl
backup all your files first, I didn't test it at all.

Pall

pallit

macrumors newbie
Sep 19, 2005