Fire at my Uni

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dodonutter, Oct 30, 2005.

1. dodonutter macrumors regular

There was a big fire today at the electronics and computer science building at my (Southampton) Uni (UK). The building had a chip fab plant in it which im guessing has made its last chip...not much of it left. Doesn't effect (or is it affect?) me cos i do engineering but a whole load of peoples PHDs just went up in smoke :(

heres the BBC news article:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/em/fr/-/1/hi/england/hampshire/4390048.stm

2. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

That looks like quite a fire. Hopefully it was accidental as thought. The good thing is that they were able to evacuate. Did you loose anything in the fire?

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

I'm doing a PhD right now and.......wow.

Maybe those students can get an honourary PhD from the Southampton "School of the Hard Knocks."

4. Deepdale macrumors 68000

Deepdale

Scary photos ... thankfully, no fatalities or injuries reported.

5. Deepdale macrumors 68000

Deepdale

I meant to ask if you knew what some of the world's most advanced research that was being conducted there dealt with?

6. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

Thats going to seriously mess with some peoples studies...

We had a fire last semester, it destroyed a building that housed some of our most advanced research..... The gents toilets...:D

Still, we got some brand spanking new ones for the new year, plenty of room on the walls to write dirty limericks.:cool:

7. Deepdale macrumors 68000

Deepdale

There once was a man named Rick
    Who was rumored to have a big stick

Oh never mind. :)

8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

That sucks. We had a flood at our uni last semester. It took down the entire campus for a day or two and the library and the psychology department for about a month. Hopefully the clean up won't take long for you guys. :)

9. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue