Firefox 16 & 17 rendering problem

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by NewishMacGuy, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #1
    Is anyone else experiencing this rendering problem (see attached photo)? It happens to me everyday on a variety of different websites with no common theme that I can tell. To correct it I have to restart the browser and after an indeterminate period of browsing it will happen again.

    What you see in the photo tends to happen more on shopping websites (particularly Amazon.com), whereas on other websites buttons and dropdown menus will be empty or just not work.

    This has been happening ever since I upgraded to Firefox 16, on multiple computers. I have tried (clean) re-installing and nothing seems to work. This doesn't happen with Safari or Opera on the same systems with the same plug-ins. The only thing I've changed in about:config is the tabs on top view, as I can't stand that view.

    Any ideas at all?

    Screen Shot 2012-12-22 at 11.17.36 AM.png
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #2
    OK, so I tried a cold reset via the Help Menu, but I can't see how this would differ from a clean install. Hopefully it'll work, but we'll see. Any other suggestions would be appreciated!

    ---
     
  3. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    I had this happen before. The cause may be any number of things: network timeouts, resource load failures, problems on the server, a custom stylesheet.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #4
    Has it happened just once or twice? I get these and other errors all the time now, sometimes several times a day. And I get "could not load the page" errors a lot too. What's going on?


    ---
     
  5. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Yes, it was just once. The cause was a resource load failure - in this case, the style sheets used by the site were not loading properly.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #6
    Personally, I haven't had that problem ever. How solid is your nework?
     
  7. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    Wireless is flaky. Wired is solid. Don't remember which I was using at the time.
     

Share This Page