Firefox 2 Flash problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mdntcallr, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I have upgraded to firefox 2 on my MBP, but it just wont work with any flash websites like youtube. or any flash.

    Have updated to flash 9, intel version. but it still wont work.

    anyone encounter the same? any ideas?
     
  2. xiaoyu04 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    #2
    does it show any error message or does it just not show up at all?
     
  3. mdntcallr thread starter macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    website shows up , but no flash content.

    that part is blank.
     
  4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    Have you gone to the Adobe website to assure that the plug-in is working?

    You might also check this Adobe page to troubleshoot.
     
  5. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #5
    I'm assuming you have a new C2D Macbook Pro, like me.

    Move the three Flash files out of /Library/Internet Plug-ins and into your own ~/Library/Internet Plug-ins folder. It shouldn't matter, but it does (I was pulling my hair out over this until I chanced upon the solution while trying to debug the problem!).

    I suspect it's because "Flash Player Enabler.plugin" is still a PPC app, while the other two files are Universal.

    The three files are:

    Flash Player Enabler.plugin
    Flash Player.plugin
    flashplayer.xpt
     
  6. mdntcallr thread starter macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    i went there, not too much help. pretty frustrating.

    right now i am hoping safari works better when the new one is released soon.
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    Since you have a workaround, I was wondering if the problem or the workaround has been reported to Adobe. Even if it's a comment at VersionTracker or MacUpdate, even that would help.
     
  8. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #8
    It's actually a Firefox 2 bug, not a Flash bug.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=356694

    First thing I tried when troubleshooting was to check in Safari; and it had no problems playing Flash.
     
  9. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #9
    Hmm... looks like their solution is easier. You can supposedly just delete the pluginsreg.dat file (from your ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox folder) while Firefox is not running.

    Also looks like it's only a problem for those of us who tried migrating our profiles over from a PPC mac to an Intel mac.
     
  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    So, once again, saving your bookmarks file and killing the profile saves the day. Sad that data corruption has caused so many problems for so many people.
     
  11. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #11
    Yeah, I've done that in the past too with Firefox and with Thunderbird. But now, with things like cookies and ads being selectively blocked, my junk mail filter being pretty well trained, etc. I hate to lose all my settings (some of which aren't in flat text files unfortunately).
     
  12. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #12
    I'm hoping that the corruption is finished but I wouldn't bet on anything. I've been running the Thunderbird beta without a problem so hopefully that goes smoothly for other people, as well.
     
  13. thewallypug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #13
    I had the same problem (today) in Firefox 2 - OSx.3.9 power pc G4 450 mHz Cube 896MB sDRAM. Flash items showed up as a greyed-out Quicktime symbol with a question mark in the middle.
    I was using Flash 9

    Firefox suggested making sure Flash in any form was unchecked in System preferences for Quicktime. I unchecked (they were all checked). No good but I kept them unchecked. Then I followed their suggestion to go to ~/library/Mozilla/profiles/...and delete "pluginreg.dat" All the while turning FF on and off.
    But it didn't work.

    I finally found this thread and decided to reinstall Flash 8.x per suggestion.
    No good.
    Next slid the 3 library items (just in case) to the other library. Still nothing. Slid back.
    Next, on to ~/libraryApplication support/firefox/pluginreg.dat. This 'pluginreg.dat' was in a different place than the other one, and it seemed to have a more modern-looking icon, (but I'm not sure). I put that in the trash - Now it works! Thank you everyone.
    I hope this can help someone. I usually can come to this forum only to humbly gather and learn. I would put back Flash 9 for a more complete story before posting this, but I can't bear to spend more time on it now...

    But I just realized this problem started a few months ago - I installed Flash 9 a few months ago.
     
  14. philwortley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    #14
    Fantastic

    Finally, a solution that actualy works. I have a PPC and moving that one little file to the trash and restarting Firefox worked a treat. Thank you so much!

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :D
     
  15. AndyR macrumors 6502a

    AndyR

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #15
    Still wish Adobe would sort out a Universal version of Shockwave Player. Can't believe they haven't sorted that out yet, appalling!
     
  16. Joe11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #16
    I have a similar problem to this although i can't view any flash content in Safari as well as Mozilla.

    It just says i need to install a plug in, and the area where the video should be is just a bwhite box, so i click to install the plug in, and it's adobe flash player, but it wont install, so i click manual install. Manually install it, and then it just, doesn't install. And no flash things work still. Anyone able to help?

    Thanks.
     
  17. frankcow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    I've used these forums many times to solve problems, but now I'm having this problem that apparently has no solution!

    I want to subscribe to this thread, hopefully an answer turns up
     
  18. sipea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #19
    The solution to this problem is on www.FlashIntelMac.com

    The solution to this problem is on www.FlashIntelMac.com
    :)
     
  19. sulmanen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #20
    Deleting profile did it for me.

    Tried all above without any luck. This worked for me:

    -Backup profile bookmarks somewhere:
    -Backup anything else in your profile you'd like to keep.
    -Close Firefox
    -Remove everything in ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox
    -Restart


    Removing a profile for nothing can be painful so check
    with a fresh user that this will work for you.
     
  20. dale1965 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #21
    Fantastic - am back to using Firefox!

    This is the best news in the world for me - salmanen's solution worked for me! :D ... no more Safari thank god lol

    :apple:
     
  21. rola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
  22. leshake macrumors newbie

    leshake

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #23
    through trial and error i have found out that if you use firefox add-ons, specifically the "Ad-Block Plus" series, it causes flash items to be shown wrong when you scroll to them, for example music players on band myspace profiles.

    i can't find a good reason to use adblock plus so i have removed it from firefox, i just don't see it doing anything much really, i still get pop-ups and ads.

    hope that helps.
     
  23. fidelfs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #24
    I found the same as leshake and the problem is with ad block plus. The reason is because there are ads embedded within the movie for example in cnn.com

    I liked ad block plus because stopped some annoying ads but I want to watch the videos.
     
  24. Buddhacom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009

Share This Page