Firefox annoyance

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 2A Batterie, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. 2A Batterie macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #1
    I know this is petty, but when I want to open a new tab in Firefox and press apple+T, nothing happens. I have to select "New Tab" in the file menu, even though right besides it is Apple+T. I've noticed some minor issues like this in Garageband too. What gives?
     
  2. 3-22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    #2
    Apple-T works just fine for me openning new tabs. Might want to make sure you are using Firefox 1.0.

    You sure your "apple" key isn't screwed up?
     
  3. Cuckoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands - Utrecht
    #3
    Sorry, i'm not sure, but my firefox opens a new tab when i press apple+T....
     
  4. 2A Batterie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2A Batterie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Out of a Suitcase, USA
    #4
    Sorry... stupid me. I had my spoken interface set to Apple+T.
     
  5. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #5
    You must currently be residing in a state of denial :D
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    No, I think you're correct, Firefox seems to have a bug where sometimes all (or some) keyboard shortcuts seems to stop working (on some tabs/windows, not all)... a quick restart of Firefox usually helps for a while...

    ...of course whenever you want to do that, cmd-Q has stopped working so you have to quit from the Firefox menu... :rolleyes: :p
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    This happens to me also. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #8
    I don't suppose anyone knows how to set it so shift+ (or alt+, etc.) the horizontal scroll could be set to go through the history? :D I've tried playing with other mouse wheel settings in about:config, but can't get it to work.

    I totally agree the default behavior is annoying, and I'm glad people figured out how to "fix" it! But it seems like it'd be handy to be able to trigger the behavior intentionally by holding down one of the usual modifier keys.
     
  9. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    One minor annoyance I have with Firefox is that middle-clicking on a link doesn't open it in a new tab by default like it does in Safari (or Firefox on Windows, for that matter). Mouseworks to the rescue, I guess.
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    I don't use a mouse, just my trackpad, but cmd-clicking brings up the page in a new tab (even if you cmd-click a bookmark or use the search funcktion and cmd-return). But, not always (see my post earlier to a possible reason...)
     
  11. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #11
    Never had that problem .... However I am using the G5 optimized version.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Used both the ordinary and the G4 optimized... happens on both...
     
  13. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #13
    mmmm ... Did you guys submitted feedback to the development team? This is potentially bad news
     
  14. iindigo macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    Just another reason to use the real Mac Mozilla browser, Camino ;) :p
     
  15. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #15
    hear hear!! although Comino needs an update as well, although i do find it much better than FF
     
  16. iindigo macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Try the latest nightly builds, they have features not in the stable release
     
  17. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #17
    Naaaah... don't bother me too much, and I suspect it might be related to another (well discussed) bug, where the whole menu is unresponsive when e.g. the download window is in focus...
     
  18. iChief macrumors member

    iChief

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Bankside, London SE1
    #18
    Back space button doesn't work

    I'm running version 1.0.3 of Firefox on a G4 iBook with OS 10.3.7 and the back space shortcut doesn't work. I mean that shortcut is supposed to bring you back a page in the browser isn't it? :confused: Is it something I have to set in Preferences?
     
  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    I'm not sure FF uses the backspace for this purpose. However, Apple-Right and Apple-Left move forwards and backwards through history. :)
     
  20. iChief macrumors member

    iChief

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Bankside, London SE1
    #20
    Thanks for that. Yeah, that seems to work. I suppose it wouldn't take much getting used to. Although I can't understand why they can't have the same shortcuts as the Windows version.

    I'm quite used to Camino now but I always prefered Fx's Bookmark manager. I can't used to it in Camino but apart from that I like most everything else in Camino e.g. it's blisteringly fast! But Fx is the one for me if I have the misfortune of having to use a Wintel machine.
     

Share This Page