Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at fa.bellevuecollege.edu:8443

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kaitcarl, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #1
    I'm am so frustrated. Every time I try to access my online class I get this error on firefox.

    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at fa.bellevuecollege.edu:8443

    I have tried all the obvious things...

    First off it's a local problem and different browsers don't help.

    Other people's laptops work on the same networks.

    I have deleted all my internet files, reinstalled browsers, ran virus checks, installed os.x. mountain lion, turned off my firewall. I'm out of ideas... please help I need to get on for school.

    Oh and I forgot to mention- this is the only website that doesn't work!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #2
    Erm, you have a virus scanner/internet security running?

    We got one here just a couple of days ago, deleted this crap and it worked again.

    You should read this:

    Mac Virus/Malware FAQ - Mac Guides

    BTW, the Virus Scanner/Internet Security Software was from TrendMicro.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #3
    I deleted it iAntivirus, didn't do anything :(
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #4
    Try changing your DNS servers to Google's.

    Open Network Preferences -> Advanced -> DNS tab -> + sign -> 8.8.8.8 -> + sign again -> 8.8.4.4 -> OK -> Apply

    *click the images to make them larger*

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #5
    Unfortunately, that didn't work either.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #6
    What is in your:

    /Library/LaunchAgents
    /Library/LaunchDaemons
    /Library/StartupItems

    Folders?

    BTW, it is better to use quote so we can see you replied.

    Edit: I just googled iAntivirus, WTF, it's the worst crap, NORTON, you might still have stuff installed by this malware.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #7
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #8
    I just put it into the trash, I'm confused what to search for in the activity monitor.

    ----------

    How do I find these files?
     
  9. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #9
    You should search for all files with name iAntivirus, if you use this App it is much easier.

    Easyfind is free.

    But, as I asked you before, what is in the next few folders?

    /Library/LaunchAgents
    /Library/LaunchDaemons
    /Library/StartupItems

    Also, didn't the Norton App come with an uninstaller?

    Edit: To find these folders press Command-Shift-G and paste /Library into it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #10
    I don't have Norton, and I'm not sure how to find those folders
     
  11. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #11
    I edited my last post, see there how to go there, you can also click in the Menu Bar on Go, then Go to Folder... and enter /Library.

    Yes you had/have, iAntivirus is Norton, I googled it.

    Edit: From Google, Symantec iAntivirus for Mac - CNET Download.com = Norton.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #12
    Okay so I looked under launch agents and it shows mackeeper. I read about this, is that probably the problem?
     
  13. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #13
    AHA, Mackeeper, that is totally Malware, another rubbish software, this is potentially dangerous and has been a problem for many Users here, even non bootable Systems!!

    Edit: Is this all or are there more files, and delete that file.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #14
    Here's the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  15. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #15
    You're so fast, sometimes I update/edit my posts as in the last one.

    Delete all traces of that program too, and this Zeobit mackeeper.plist file

    The rest is safe, only delete the com.zeobit file.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #16
    I deleted it, couldn't find any other files.

    That website is still not working though.
     
  17. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #17
    No of course not, you have to restart to make the changes active.

    Have you searched for anything called Norton or symantec, did the program come with an uninstaller.
    Do this before restarting.

    Edit: You also looked in the other folder which I mentioned above?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #18
    Nothing under those two, and no it didn't
     
  19. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #19
    In Easyfind you have to click files and check the Invisible files and folders and the package contents to find all files related.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #20
    There was nothing under those names, but all of mackeeper stuff is deleted.

    Website still doesn't work.

    ----------

    edit
     
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #21
    Screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  22. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #22
    I get this if I enter the url:

    ***It works !

    If you're seeing this page via a web browser, it means you've setup Tomcat successfully. Congratulations!

    This is the default Tomcat home page. It can be found on the local filesystem at: /var/lib/tomcat6/webapps/ROOT/index.html

    Tomcat6 veterans might be pleased to learn that this system instance of Tomcat is installed with CATALINA_HOME in /usr/share/tomcat6 and CATALINA_BASE in /var/lib/tomcat6, following the rules from /usr/share/doc/tomcat6-common/RUNNING.txt.gz.

    You might consider installing the following packages, if you haven't already done so:

    tomcat6-docs: This package installs a web application that allows to browse the Tomcat 6 documentation locally. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

    tomcat6-examples: This package installs a web application that allows to access the Tomcat 6 Servlet and JSP examples. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

    tomcat6-admin: This package installs two web applications that can help managing this Tomcat instance. Once installed, you can access the manager webapp and the host-manager webapp.

    NOTE: For security reasons, using the manager webapp is restricted to users with role "manager". The host-manager webapp is restricted to users with role "admin". Users are defined in /etc/tomcat6/tomcat-users.xml.***

    ----

    Damage might have been done by MacKeeper, and I say might, the App has it's reputation here on MR, and you still did not answer my question about iAntivirus, did it come with an uninstaller?

    Edit: did you try in Safari or another browser?
     
  23. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #23
    I didn't see one, no.

    http://bellevuecollege.edu/canvas/

    It's the login button after that.

    ----------

    yes I've tried other browsers, same thing.
     
  24. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #24
    Can't see that, can not log in:p


    So User account wide, or system wide.

    What you can do next is to login into another account, if you don't have one create one in Users And Groups in System Preferences, then login to that account, what happens there, if it is the same it's system wide, if it's working then there is something in your User Account preventing to login.

    Try the above first.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #25

    The issue is on my computer only, I can't get to the login page, that's where I'm getting the error.
     

Share This Page