FireFox Downloads .EXE files only

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by orangemacapple, Jan 26, 2007.

  1. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #1
    when i go to the apple site (and others, too) in firefox and want to download a file, it always comes in as @@@@.EXE

    examle: my airport update should've come in as AirPortExtremeUpdate2007001.dmg , but instead it came in as: cylcmj0k.exe

    i have to go to safari to download files.
    didn't have this problem until i got my MB.
    never had this problem on my emac. both running osx 10.4.8

    Firefox/2.0.0.1

    is there a setting i missed somewhere? like the one where all my downloads were going all over the place (desktop, documents, d/l, tec.), even though i had specified in firefox that all downloads were to go to my downloads folder -- until i changed the downloads pref in SAFARI also to put it in my d/l folder.

    I really prefer FireFox, except for this quirk which may force me to go back to safari.
     
  2. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #2
    no idea

    I have no idea why that happens but it happens to me also... so I use Safari to download and then after a while or a reboot not sure which... it works again in firefox... I would very much like to know why however...
     
  3. orangemacapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #3
    is yours machine specific also, like mine -- only on the macbook? but fine on the emac.

    i can't figure out if it's a macbook problem or a firefox problem.
     
  4. orangemacapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #4
    Solution Found!

    a friend came over. took 30 minutes and found the problem. FIXED!

    i had FF set to put my d/l's into the download alias on my desktop, instead of the download folder in my root.

    don't know why it put all the other d/l's in there fine and only messed up the .dmg files.

    simple solution. i've been worrying over this since november when i got it and set it up.

    it's not a firefox problem. it's not a mb problem.

    i feel dumb!
     
  5. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
  6. orangemacapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #6
    let me know if that was your problem also.
    so difficult for me to find. so easy to fix.
     
  7. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #7
    Fixed

    Thank you ... seems to be fixed... fingers crossed.. :D
     

Share This Page