Firefox: How the heck do you possibly install this?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by NJRonbo, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #1
    I just got my mac pro today. First time Mac user after years
    of being a Power PC user.

    I think I nailed the basics of installing a program. Basically, the
    program icon gets dragged to the APPLICATIONS folder and the
    program is installed.

    Thus far I installed quite a few programs without a hitch.

    But has anyone tried installing Firefox?

    You drag it to the APPLICATIONS folder and several things happen....

    First, it shows up as a DRIVE (not a launch icon) on the desktop.

    When you go into APPLICATIONS and try to launch Firefox, you
    get a message that says something like:" "Cannot start as
    application is open already"

    After several botched install attempts (throwing application files
    into trash) I go to FINDER and find multiple FIREFOX icon entries
    that I can't get rid of.

    How can I start from scratch, clean out all the Firefox crud now
    on my mac and do a fresh install that will work?

    Please give very precise instructions as you are working with
    a newbie here.

    Thanks!
     
  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    I'm confused by what you say, but it sounds like you might've fallen into the "DMG trap" that a lot of new Mac (OS X) users get caught in.

    When you download Firefox, it comes as a .dmg file. You double-click that and it mounts a virtual disk image on your desktop with the Firefox.app inside. You drag Firefox.app to your Applications folder, then eject the virtual disk image, and finally throw the dmg in the Trash.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Exactly, simpler description:
    Double click the grey icon, instead of dragging it to applications
    A white drive should appear, drag the contents of that to the application folder
    Drag the grey icon and white drive on the desktop to the trash
     
  4. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #4
    Okay, those last instructions worked perfectly the
    first time.

    However, upon the second launch of FIREFOX from
    the applications folder I found a Firefox DRIVE icon on
    my desktop even though I thought I discarded all those
    icons (as instructed above)

    Now whether I launch Firefox from APPLICATIONS or
    the DRIVE icon, I get the message that "A copy of Firefox
    is already open"

    By the way, guys, thank you for taking the time to help.
    This forum is great!
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Maybe press the apple in the top left.
    Then press force quit.
    If firefox is there then select it and press force quit.
    Then drag the white drive icon from your desktop to the trash.
    Now open firefox from the applications folder.

    And yes, this forum is awesome...

    P.S: For future reference the force quit thing (which you'll hopefully very rarely have to use) is the equivelant of the windows ctrl-alt-del.

    PPS: I think you originally meant to say you were a PC user, not a Power PC user. PPC is the old processor formerly used in macs.
     
  6. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #6
    Ah, yes, a PC user. However, after all these years of using
    Windows I used that term to show I was a highly experienced one.

    This Firefox situation is not getting any better.

    Removed the DRIVE icon by throwing it in the trash.

    Launched FIREFOX from APPLICATIONS. When I do that,
    I get a install-like screen that tells me to drag my Firefox
    icon to the app folder. When I do that, the DRIVE appears
    on my desktop. This tells me I may not have the right icon
    installed in the APPS area.

    Also, I should mention, I did copy my PROFILES folder
    from my Windows installed Firefox and replaced it over
    the Macintosh like folder. I read this could legally be done
    if I wanted to import my bookmarks and plug-ins.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    it should be easy. as previous reply described. maybe u should try again without the profile u copied.
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    What did you drag to the applications folder?

    If you could post screenshots that would be great...use applekey+shift+3

    If you double click the white drive icon once it is created, then drag firefox from there, not the grey icon, all should be fine...
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Correct. That thing that you placed in the apps directory is the disk image -- not the application itself. The application file is inside the disk image. Do this:

    Double click on it again so that the drive is on the desktop. Now open that "drive" and you should see a window with a firefox icon (circular orange and blue one) -- this is the icon you want to drag to the applications folder. Do that.

    Now drag the drive icon from the desktop to the trash.

    Now go to the applications folder. If you still have anything called Firefox there that DOES NOT have the circular orange and blue icon, drag it directly from the apps folder to the trash.

    Now run Firefox. It should work properly.

    Also look at the guide here for a detailed walkthrough.... the pictures might make it much more obvious. Once you do it once or twice it'll be easy enough. :) You can do it! :)

    Oh, and can you please stop manually typing enter at the end of every line? The forum supports word wrapping! ;)
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    [​IMG]
    after this, u can launch firefox by double clicking the firefox icon in your application folder.
     
  11. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #11
    What you just instructed above worked perfectly

    I only have the icon itself in the APPS folder. No more drive icon on the desktop as that has been trashed.

    Still will not open stating "A copy of Firefox is already open"

    I even shut down and restarted my mac to force application closure.
     
  12. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #12
    Also, even though I have now completely trashed FIREFOX, I do a search with SPOTLIGHT and I have a half dozen instances of Firefox showing up. Tried throwing them all in TRASH by dragging, but I guess you can't do that through SPOTLIGHT.
     
  13. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Search in spotlight. Click show all at the top. Now you can drag to trash...
     
  14. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #14
    Selected Show All.

    Moved to Trash, the Trash can made clunking sound, but application
    did not disappear.

    I have a long way to go in figuring out this OS, but I'll get there.
     
  15. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15
    Why don't you just stick with Safari? You just got your first Mac today, how could you possibly know if Safari is worth replacing? It's not like Internet Explorer on a PC, Safari is actually a good browser (and I argue it's the best because of it's speed, simplicity, and apple-ness).
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    Erm... I think it's not so bad. I think you just somehow managed to mess it up while trying to figure it out! ;) Once you clean this up, it should be fairly straightforward.

    Now then, one thing to point out is that spotlight searches the trash folder. So when you drag things from a spotlight window to the trash, they don't disappear. But they should no longer be in their previous location.
     
  17. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #17
    I think I right clicked in SHOW ALL SPOTLIGHT and was able
    to empty trash from there. All the FIREFOX applications are
    now removed.

    Why Firefox? Easy! Been using it for years and I think it
    can't easily be beat. If I can get this installed correctly
    and import over all my favorites and plug-ins as others have,
    everything will be kosher.

    Just have to get to that point.
     
  18. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #18
    Firefox can't be beat on a PC, true. But on a Mac, it's not a clear choice. Firefox just plain sucks on a Mac IMO - only good thing is those plug-ins. But in reality there is no reason to run and replace the default Mac browser just like everybody does on a PC. Safari (WebKit) is better as a browser, and Camino is chosen by a lot of people if they want a Mozilla browser for some reason (which I usually don't).

    If you can do without plug-ins or with only these plug ins, Safari is a better choice. I still haven't been sold on all this plug-in craze, though.
     
  19. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #19
    I used to use Firefox on my mac, but switched to safari since i found the 'inquisitor' plug in...
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    Wow, that looks really nice.... I might have to try that at some point! :) Thank you!
     
  21. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #21
    Okay found the problem with Firefox....

    Replacing the PROFILE folder with the Windows folder was the problem.

    I'll figure out a way to do this I am certain.
     
  22. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #23
    Need to thank you guys!

    I did it! I reinstalled Firefox and instead of just copying over my PROFILE folder I individually transferred all the files from my XP Firefox folder to the designated default Firefox Mac folder.

    My Firefox now opens up exactly as it did on XP with all my extensions and bookmarks intact.

    Could not have done it without you guys!

    Listen....one more favor....

    How do I do a CTRL+A function to select ALL FILES to copy at once?
    Perhaps since I am using a Windows keyboard without Mac drivers
    this is the reason I cannot do this. I just want to be sure the
    command is still the same.
     
  23. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #24
    Macs have a Command key that is used for almost every key combo. Unfortunately, PC keyboards do not have this key. I think on a PC keyboard it is remapped to the Windows key or something.

    On a Mac it is Command+A, not Control+A.

    Also copy and paste is Command+C, Command+V.

    Printing is usually Command+P.

    And don't forget to quit all your apps (closing the app's windows do not generally quit apps on a Mac, unless the app only has one window) - easily done by Command+Q.
     
  24. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #25
    you can always import your windows version's bookmark easily, but i think u might want to reinstall extensions and themes, i kinda think direct copy of windows version's profile folder might not be a good idea, not sure if the structure is exactly same (I know it looks approximately same).
     

Share This Page