Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jmre5150

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 4, 2007
Levittown, PA
Just got my Macbook Pro (new to macs) and installed firefox. But obviously I'm a noob, and dont know what I'm doing. It left a firefox icon that looks like a drive on my desktop. It wont let me get rid of it.

Can someone explain what I'm doing wrong and how can I get it off my desktop?

Thanks and sorry for being a noob.

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
Open that drive image and take a look at the icons inside it and the background. It's telling you to drag the Firefox application to the Applications folder. Once it's been installed, you can eject the drive image and delete it.

jmre5150

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 4, 2007
Levittown, PA
Hmmm, its installed (using it right now) but it wont let me eject it. Says "This disk is currently in use". And thats even after I close out of firefox.

prostuff1

macrumors 65816
Jul 29, 2005
Don't step into the kawoosh...
Hmmm, its installed (using it right now) but it wont let me eject it. Says "This disk is currently in use". And thats even after I close out of firefox.

If i had to guess you are probably running firefox off of the disk image.

Try quiting firefox then ejecting the disk image. Then try to restart firefox. If it does not work you did not actually install the application you are just running it off the .dmg

jmre5150

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 4, 2007
Levittown, PA
If i had to guess you are probably running firefox off of the disk image.

Try quiting firefox then ejecting the disk image. Then try to restart firefox. If it does not work you did not actually install the application you are just running it off the .dmg

Is there a way to check what is running in the background, like you can on a PC? Even though I'm closed out of it, it must still be running behind the scenes.

jmre5150