Firefox in Mavericks. WOW?!

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by kappaknight, Oct 4, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #1
    I'm not sure if I'm imagining this, but did Apple fix the memory management/allocation for apps like Firefox?

    I used to see 80-100% CPU usage in ML, but so far, it's staying between 3-6.5% even with about 30+ tabs open.

    Great stuff so far!
     
  2. macrumors member

    Septillion

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Location:
    China
    #2
    Did App Nap work? Mavericks will turn down the CPU usage of background apps. BTW, I never use Firefox on my Mac. Safari is always the best choice.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #3
    In YOUR opinion. Firefox is far more extensible and customizable than Safari. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    #4
    That and tab management is awful in Safari.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #5
    Agreed. I also can't live without session manager, etc.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #6
    OK, if Safari is the best choice, then tell me how i can see the encryption strength for https sites in Safari!?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Firefox was great, now it has become too bloated. Plus it does not integrate as well as windows. Things such as zooming, scrolling etc are not even half as good as Safari. Then there is the issue with slowdown on complicated pages and lack of full HTML 5 support.

    There are bugs open for all of this, which I am watching and offering to test. Also I have been using and testing Firefox since Firebird 0.6 so I know what I am talking about.
     
  8. rayhigh, Oct 5, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #8
    The fact that you've been using it since 0.6 is supposed to impress me? That's like when I tell people I've had a usenet account since 1987. No one gives a rats.

    Firefox went through a rough patch that lasted 6 to 9 months a couple years back, as I recall. Since then, it is back to its stable self. I haven't had a problem with it in quite some time. I vastly prefer it to Safari or chrome.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    rev.b

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #9
    I use firefox, so I checked, and you're right. Firefox CPU usage is roughly half of it used to be with DP8.

    Not complaining. ;)
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #10
    Agree - add blocker loves Firefox
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    BenTrovato

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Finally! Looking forward to Mavericks a little bit more now :D
     
  12. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #12
    By clicking on the gray https ([​IMG]) next to the rest of the address and clicking on show certificate.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page