Firefox is screwing up my Powerbook

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by KevRC4130, Aug 25, 2004.

1. KevRC4130 macrumors 6502

Hey guys,
    I tried to download Mozilla Firefox, and it downloaded. I tried to open it, and now it just opens and closes in the dock. The icon appears, and disappears, and has been doing it for about 5 minutes now. I tried to click around, and I ended up opening another one. Now I've got two Mozilla icons opening and closing in the dock. I tried to force quit, and it doesnt work. I tried shutting down and restarting with the power button, but it says that Mozilla cancels the shut down process, so I can't shut it down. I guess I'm just going to have to wait till the battery dies, and hope for the best. Does anyone know what is wrong and how to fix it?

Thanks

P.S. Sorry, this might be something very obvious and stupid, but please forgive me, I'm still pretty new to OSX.

2. freiheit macrumors 6502a

I had a similar problem with Firefox 0.9 and OSX 10.2.8. However the more recent version (I think 0.9.1 or 2) of Firefox worked okay for me. I have not tried 0.9.3 which is the current release. What version of OSX and Firefox are you running?

3. KevRC4130 thread starter macrumors 6502

I'm running OSX 10.3.5 , and Firefox 0.9.3 , both the latest and greatest.

4. plasticparadox macrumors 6502

First, try a force-quit. Press command (Apple key), option, and esc. If you see Firefox in the list of running apps, then force-quit it. If you don't see it in the list, then reboot your mac. Press control, command, and the power button.

No need to wait for your battery to run out.

5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

Did you repair permissions after the installation? When I have something quit without displaying anything, it's usually corrected this way. Also, if you have any customisations/hacks, they could be interfering but plenty of people do, so I'm guessing that it's not the cause of the problem.