Firefox Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dsnort, Jun 18, 2006.

1. dsnort macrumors 68000

dsnort

I'm a Mac noob, so this is probably a dumb question. When I download Firefox, it is an installer. I run the installler, and it opens a window with Firefox in it. If I close this window, I have to reinstall? If I delete the installler, Firefox won't open! What am I doing wrong?

2. bartvl macrumors newbie

You have to drag and drop the Firefox icon from the installer to your applications folder.

3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

Yes, that program is not an installer, it's the application itself. Drag it into your applications folder.

Before doing that though, why not give Safari a try? It's not like Internet Explorer for Windows... there really isn't a pressing need to immidiately go and replace Safari with FireFox.

4. Eduardo1971 macrumors 65816

Eduardo1971

Well there are sites that will not show with Safari and that will with Firefox.

For a new convert who does not know how to make adjustments to get Safari to show these IE-compatible sites to show, downloading Firefox would make sense.

5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

But for the 99% of the world that does work in Safari, pages generally load faster and display more accurately. I believe this has been discussed numerous times here.

6. dsnort thread starter macrumors 68000

dsnort

Thanks a lot, that worked fine. And yes, I only installed Firefox for a few sites that don't like Safari. I love Safari.

7. emaja macrumors 68000

I don't think that there has been any definitive coming together of the minds that says that Safari is the be all and end oll of Mac browsers.

I like Camino, which uses the same engine as Firefox, and I find it to be faster and generally more Mac-like than even Apple's own browser. Add CamiTools and I have no problems, and I avoid the creeping CPU/RAM hogging that Safari like to do.