Firefox: Keyboard shortcuts for bookmarks bar?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by TWLreal, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. TWLreal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #1
    So, in Safari, CMD + # is bound to your bookmarks toolbar. As in, pressing CMD + 1 goes to your first bookmark, CMD + 2 the second and so on.

    I have added bookmarks in said toolbar but what is the shortcut to access them without the mouse?

    Also, why can't I use a double TAB to get to Google's I'm Feeling Lucky button? It's cycling through the browser window's other buttons when I use TAB. Kind of annoying.
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    1. u can use cmd+B open bookmark sidebar, and then tab+arrow to choose bookmark

    2. firefox's address bar is a "feeling luck" input, just input any term, press enter, it will bring you to the website through google's I feeling lucky.
     
  3. TWLreal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #3
    Bleh, that's less then stellar. I found an extension that does it but it kind of sucks that there is no built-in shortcut to access them.
    The thing is my home page is Google.

    I open a browser window and bam, I'm already at the entry field, I type something like "macrumors" and double TAB and I'm there.

    I never use the address bar. :|

    Guess I'll stick with Firefox for my PC and Safari for my Mac then.
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    What version of Firefox are you using on your Mac? I'm using 2.0, and a double-tab gets me to "I'm Feeling Lucky" just fine.
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    its only a matter of habit, double TAB is two key, u use "cmd+L" to focus to address bar are two key also, its not more difficult, just need to get use to it.
    Its hard to ask two browser to have exactly same hotkey, especially firefox's hotkey tend to beb cross_platform.
    and personally, I won;t make my choice based on hotkey, lol, Im a mice man, especially there are so many extensions I can't live without.
     
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    Okay, I'm not a Firefox user, so maybe I'm missing something, but when I type a search term in Firefox's address bar and hit enter, it does a Google search, not an "I'm Feeling Lucky" search. :confused:

    Edit: Okay, sometimes it does an "I'm Feeling Lucky," but most of the time it does a regular search. :confused: :confused:
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    there are two iput area on firefox's toolbar, one is address bar, the other is search bar, you sure you typed your term in address bar rather than search bar?
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Yes, I'm using the address bar. If I type "apple mac" into it, it takes me to apple.com. If I type "toilet" into it, it takes me to a page of Google results.
     
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    well, try more, it seems to be a balance of auto complete, search and feel lucky, little bit more complicated than I expressed in that post... :D
     
  10. TWLreal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #10
    It's 2.0.

    Safari has an option to change the way TAB behaves but Firefox doesn't.

    Pressing TAB in Firefox cycles between the entire browser's buttons.
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    Interesting...I have no idea why it works fine for me, but not for you. It's just skipping over the "I'm Feeling Lucky" button and going straight from the "Google Search" button to the "Advanced Search" text link? Or is it doing something else entirely?
     
  12. TWLreal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #12
    It cycles from the address bar to the Google search bar and back to the er, Google search box that's inside Google if you know what I mean.

    It's like Safari's default TAB behavior if you didn't check the box. It only goes to text fields.
     
  13. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    Okay, mine was working the exact opposite way, and a little investigation revealed that it was the systemwide preference specified in System Preferences --> Keyboard & Mouse --> Keyboard Shortcuts.

    If you set "Full keyboard access" to "All controls," then Firefox will let you tab through everything on the page.

    (Or just hit control-F7.)

    You'll also have to restart Firefox.
     
  14. TWLreal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006

Share This Page