Firefox - middle click a bookmark

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Razorhog, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #1
    I have set up Firefox so that when I middle click on a bookmark, it's supposed to open in a new tab. However, it does not work. This is a feature of an extension named "Tabbrowser Preferences" version 1.2.8.9
    Anyone have the same prob?
     
  2. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    This is a standard Firefox feature and does not require any extensions to work. However, you need to go into System Preferences and set the scroll button (or whatever your middle button is) on your mouse as button three.

    Sean :)
     
  3. Razorhog thread starter macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #3
    I have done that. It works as "button 3" in all other aspects, just not when I want to middle click a bookmark... thanks
     
  4. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #4
    I have this same issue.

    Firefox on PC when you middle click a bookmark it opens in a new tab.

    Firefox on Mac when you middle click a bookmark, it opens in the current tab.

    Everywhere else on FirefoxMac middle click properly opens new tabs (link in a window, quick link bar, etc.

    So, bump! Anyone have a solution to this minor irritant for a switcher?
     
  5. isleofjib macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    type "about:config" in the address bar. search for preference name"browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick" set boolean value to "true". if you don't have this, right click->new->boolean - copy the above preference (minus quotes), set value to true. and you should be all set.

    you might want to try Tab mix plus. does a lot more than most of the other tab extensions and has been very reliable for me.
     
  6. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #6
    This key already exists, and it is already set to true.

    It works properly when you click any link on a page, it works when you click links in the bookmark toolbar folder (That appear on the Bookmarks Toolbar).

    The only place it doesn't work, is if you click "Bookmarks", navigate to the folder with the bookmark you want, and then middle click on the bookmark. In this case it opens the bookmark in your current tab instead of a new tab.

    On the PC, it opens it properly in the new tab. I've already formatted reinstalled (for a different issue) and still have this same problem/bug with the mac version of Firefox.
     
  7. isleofjib macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    i dunno what to tell you then. i know it works fine for me on the mac. did when i had a pc, too, but that was a long time ago.

    you may want to try TMP because i do know that is an option you can set with it. that's the only other way i know of right now.
     
  8. streetfighter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #8
    I have the same problem, anyone find a solution?
     
  9. crayonshin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    an old thread for an old problem. just downloaded firefox 3 beta 5 and this STILL does not work. works in windows firefox just fine. also, safari can do this so there is no reason firefox should not be able to. anybody know a fix or workaround?
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    there are quite a few bug reports on this
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=313718
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=425285
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=228840
    ...

    just don't seem to gather any interests tho, weird....

    Before it got fixed, I would suggest this way.

    1. enable bookmark toolbar
    2. arrange all your bookmarks into bookmark toolbar folder through bookmark manager
    3. middle click or drag bookmarks from bookmark toolbar to the empty space of tabbar to open in new tab in background.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. crayonshin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    sad. seems like it would be such a simple fix for any firefox programmer. oh well, i'll keep waiting. coincidentally, i came up with the same workaround you suggested right before i read your reply. works fine until this is fixed someday hopefully.

    now my only other problem is that firefox does not work with my work's proxy.pac file for some reason when both safari and opera do.
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    I think the trend in firefox 3 is less bookmarking and historying, more awesome bar spotlighting, thats how i understand the design. we will have to wait and see if most ppl like it.
     
  13. streetfighter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
  14. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #14
    apparently not, :(
     
  15. kai2040 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008

Share This Page