Firefox on a TiBook 400/Tiger?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Designer Dale, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #1
    My girlfriend has a G4/400 PowerBook with 768 MB ram. The guy who did the upgrade for her told her that it would not run anything higher than Safari 4. She wants Firefox because it runs parts of her online financing site better.

    Anyone have experience with Firefox/G4/Tiger combos?

    Dale
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It runs fine for me, even with 7 extensions and Weave/FireFox Sync turned on. I'm on a Ti 550Mhz, but it's close enough. Sometime I do use Safari 4.1, it is faster on older Macs.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #3
    it works fine on mine 400 mhz/512 ram i also use safari and camino as well i use the camino browser that is optimized for the g4 platform.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    Camino uses the same rendering engine as Firefox, so she might want to look at Camino as an alternative. It's a native cocoa app, so it's snappier and more Mac-like.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #5
    Thanks for the quick replies. I know Firefox will manage the research pages of her financial website, but I'm not familiar with Camino. I'll mess with it on my MBP.

    Thanks.

    Dale
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #6
    Click the Apple in the top-left corner, hit software update - and be happy with Safari 5, which runs on Tiger, too.
    And for Firefox, just hit mozilla.com and install Firefox. Only MacOS 9 doesn't run Firefox, but Mozilla 1.2.1 (kind of it's predecessor).
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #7
    Thanks, guys/gals. Bank of America just moved it's online investing site over to Merrill Lynch and the site runs fine in all areas under Safari. All the glitches seem to have been resolved with the new site. Pages used to half load and crap like that. I have Camino and like it a lot, so thanks for all the input.

    Dale
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Safari 5 does not run on Tiger. 4.1 is the latest version that runs on it.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #9
    i was just wondering about that.... i thought only safari 4.1 ran on tiger as well. if safari 5 runs on tiger id be willing to try that.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #10
    I guess Safari 4.1 gives the user experience of Safari 5 and I don't remember the numbers correctly then. Still, I'm pretty sure that it said "Safari 5" in Software Update, though.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #11
    it will run fine, i use it on my 500mhz g3 ibook, but if you have loads of tabs open like i usually do it eats into the ram and slows the computer down
     

Share This Page