Firefox Search Bar!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mkrishnan, Dec 31, 2004.

  1. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #1
    So I'm just wondering...besides google, what do people use in the search bar for Firefox? These are the things I have:

    Google Images (use a lot)
    Dictionary.com
    Acronym Finder
    PubMed
    Wikipedia

    Is there any way to delete items one doesn't use from the list?
     
  2. solaris macrumors 6502a

    solaris

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #2
    Google Mac (off course :p )

    Google Suggest is also great, but its not available as a search bar engine yet.


    Yes, just delete the "whatever-search-engine.src" and its corresponding image from the firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/searchplugins/ folder.
     
  3. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    What is the difference between google and google mac? Google Suggest is really amazing. I had never heard about it.

    Thanks also for how to delete engines -- while I was poking around in there, I also found a way to modify the script for my pubmed entry so that it uses the EZProxy system that my school uses, so that I can get full text. It isn't perfect -- the first time I use it, I have to login, and it fails to correctly jump me from the login page to the originally requested search, because the EZProxy login thing sends me to another page to look for the database engine I want. But if I immediately execute the search from the bar again, it works fine, because I remain logged in. :rolleyes:

    I also found another good one: Urban Dictionary! :D It r00lz!
     
  4. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #5
    I downloaded the plug-in for google mac but it doesn't show up in the bar. :mad:
     
  5. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Did you restart FF?
     
  6. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #7
    No. :eek:

    I tell you if it works.

    Edit: It is still not working, it is not showing up.
     
  7. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Hmmm...oddness! So you should go to the page where the search engine plugin is located, you click it, you get a popup window that asks if you want to install it. You click yes. Actually that's it. I don't think you need to restart now that I rethink it.

    I will go try to get the google mac one and see too.
     
  8. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    It worked for me no problems, although I still don't understand what the diff is between google mac and google. Are you sure you did all the steps:

    - Click on the search type icon and choose Add Search Engines
    - Click on the item at the end of the list that says something like find lots of other search engines
    - Type Google Mac into the bar on that page
    - Click the link that comes up
    - Click the OK to install button in the popup

    You should get it instantly in your list -- the icon is a G but without a square around it, and it lists as "Google Mac."

    I'd link you straight to the last step, but it's JScript so I can't. :(

    Oh, thing #2 to try -- if it still isn't working, go into the firefox.app directory in term as described above for removing a search engine, and make sure the googleMac.src and .png files are in there.
     
  9. lom8104 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    #10
    So how do you navigate into the firefox.app file???
     
  10. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Right click it (or ctrl-click it) and select the option "Show Package Contents" or similar.
     
  11. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #12
    I use a plugin I wrote for the University of Kent library rather a lot ;)

    Gutenberg.net is useful, Google UK... hmm. Websters isn't getting much use since Tiger, I might drop that. Wikipedia.
     

Share This Page