FirePro in New Mac Pro is FirePro W9000

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #1
    From What we know.

    New Mac Pro will gave DUAL Workstation GPU as standard.

    4096 Stream processor, 384-bit memory buses, total 528 GBps bandwidth.

    It all reassembled 2 x FirePro W9000. (Workstation version of 7970).

    That cost Ummmh. $3,399.99 per Unit.

    Let's calculate new Mac Pro price guys.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    That's what I've been saying… 2x Xeon Ivy Bridge-E's easily another 2000.00.
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #3
    It's single CPU, not dual. Still, a 12 core IVB-E, even at the modest clockrates they'll be available at, will probably be $2500, so you're not far off I think.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    my guess is the 12 core will come in around $3800
     
  5. macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    If every Mac Pro is going to ship with two of those GPUs, and thats the only option as indicated by the details show so far, then Apple can buy them A LOT cheaper than $3,400. Much of that retail price is because of the market for it and what they expect in terms of support and certification.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    I assume they will offer some entry level GPUs for those that don't need it? Any speculation on what the entry level might be?

    Also, does the anticipated E5 Ivy Xeon have an on-die Intel GPU? Does that mean there are really 3 GPUs in a fully configured system?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #7
    Who knows at this point!

     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #8
    I hope i don't have to buy those. i have no need for them. I want 2 office level gpu's for displaying onto 4 displays. Thats all.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    #9
    Where are we getting the info that the W9000 needs to be there at the low end? It looks like the W5000 supports 4K.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #10
    I have a feeling that getting the two GPUs will be an upgrade and the base model will only have one.

    Also its a single socket CPU so you will most likely have a range of core options up to 12.

    I also have a feeling there is going to a wide range of prices depending on your performance needs. Apple has put a lot of R&D into this new Mac Pro and is going to want a larger user base then the current Mac Pro. So the prices and performance will have to appeal to a wider group of end users.

    The prosumer will want a cheaper version of the Mac Pro, while a professional will want to get the most performance out of the system regardless of price.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #11
    How do we even know if the processors and video chips are upgradable? They may all be soldered to the boards! Given Apple's stance on upgrading a mac, they are making it harder and harder to do so, forcing you to buy a new machine each year..

    I don't know yet if I will get one. My 6-Core gets the job done for me.

     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #12
    I re-watched the stream just to make sure I didn't get it wrong.

    Phil said, UP TO. Did not say that was the base configuration graphics, but the top.

    There will be much lower, maybe even a single card.

    The biggest issue I see is that we're back to waiting for apple to give us the upgrade graphic packages in order to get a new card, I was getting used to popping any PC card in.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    #13
    The chips may be soldered to the boards.. but given Apple's direction in terms of upgrading and expanding, they are surely closing up that era for us.

     
  14. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #14
    "Dual GPUs Standard" according to the Graphics page of the official site.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #15
    They kinda look like daughter cards, not soldered. I think we may have the option to upgrade, but only through what Apple decides to offer, like the old times.
     
  16. macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #16
    That's how I see it too.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #17
    True.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #18
    Hopefully there will be an option for non-pro graphics cards and CPU's. At least in the realm of SLI GTX 780m's. iMac performance just doesn't cut it for me as well as having no need for a new monitor.
     
  19. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #19
    Not good news for those with a CUDA workflow, I suppose.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #20
    Thats very true, I was thinking the same thing.
     
  21. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #21
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #22
    Same here. I guess I better migrate to FCPX then...

    ----------

    It's the thought of spending $2-3k on this then buying 3 pcie enclosures for a gfx card, data storage and a backup. Be much simpler to you know have it all tidy in a single box. If only they made such a device...
     
  23. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #23
    Lol. I don't like it either really.
    It is surprisingly (or not) reminiscent of the retina MBP. Charge more and take away functionality 'in box' for a bag of dongles. You can have everything back but it'll cost even more. The New Mac Pro could be 2x the size and give users some PCI slots and HDD SATA options. And still be a marvel of small form.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #24
    wondering if 10.9 will bring support to 5,1 or earlier machines for FirePro cards? if software is going to be written to take advantage of the cards in the new MacPro then maybe "add-on" cards for older machines would be possible? that is, assuming 10.9 can be used on a 5,1 or earlier machine...
     
  25. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #25
    3,1 can use 10.9. 5,1 no problem. You may get lucky and be able to use FirePro in 10.9, sure. Don't have any Fir Pro cards on hand to test.
     

Share This Page