Firewire 800 Gone on MacBook!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by adk, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. adk
    macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #1
    The new MacBook Pros have gotten rid of firewire 800. so much for that Idea I guess...
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #2
    For what do you need it anyway on a portable? Never got why people got so worked up about it...

    groovebuster
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    I'm a sound engineer and do all my recording through a firewire interface...not the end of the world but, as macs are the standard for this kind of work, I think it's a shame the new laptops don't have it.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #4
    Honestly, that's the deal breaker right there, having only one FireWire port.

    I'm really tempted to upgrade from my Rev A Aluminum 15 inch PowerBook, get the better proc/HD/graphics/SuperDrive but I need two FireWire ports. It's great that FireWire ports daisy chain, but not all devices do. I use my laptop as a desktop replacement, and I need to be able to plug in my 3G iPod and have my external drives at the same time. Yeah I can put the iPod at the end of the chain, but that terminates it and places undue limitations on my workflow.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    I never used FW myself so it doesn't really affect me.

    But if they are going to to keep a FW port on their pro laptop, why not make it a FW800 port?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #6
    There are FireWire-Hubs...

    groovebuster
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #7
    Hey, another sound engineer here too.

    I have noticed the iMac has been downgraded from Firewire 800 to 400. Which is kinda bad a in our studios we have four recording/edit rooms, thee have iMacs and one has a PowerMac. Upgrading the iMac's may be a no go (would like PowerMacs in the future in them anyway).
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #8
    Makes no difference, the bandwidth will still be 400Mbps, all you are doing is sharing the bandwidth out to all the devices connected to it.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #9
    There is plenty to like about the MacBook, but losing FW800 is a disappointment, and they didn't even add another USB port to make up for it. Adding hubs to a portable machine is tiresome to say the least.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #10
    Firewire 800 and internal modem gone too!

    I use Firewire 800 for backing up my PowerBook. I also need to use dial-up once in awhile. But the MacBook has no internal modem -- an external USB modem is a $50 extra.

    Guess I'll have to lobby all my friends to install DSL and stop staying at cheap hotels that don't have wireless.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    It's a shame about FW800, the modem and the superdrives. DL superdrives can be plugged in with FW (400), modems and FW800 can be made with the card port. Still, internal modems in portables should be kept going for the next 15 or so years before dial-up is (finally) shoved.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    joepunk

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    a profane existence
    #12
    Since Apple droped FW800 I wished they could have added another USB port as a replacement.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #13
    Agree!!!!!!!
    My HP pavilion DV4000 has 4 USB ports!!! 3 would be reasonable..
     
  14. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14

    Yeah since no modem, they could have given us 1 more usb at least. Modem wasn't a shock though as theyve been removing it from all their products lately.

    Battery life is my concern though...
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #15
    FW800: don;t use it..don't need it...
    The modem: well..for 39 bucks you can get a external one IF you eventually need it...
    the superdrive: I really don't understand why they took it out!!!

    One of the reasons for these changes could be the price! They took out some features, added others for the same price....
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #16
    Where is all of this data coming from? The sustained data bandwidth with a normal serial ATA drive is roughly 30 MB/s which is roughly on par with a FW400 port.

    If you think you need FW800 you have to be pushing data out to a RAID array hanging off of the FW800 port and the data cannot ever pass through your local HD. If this is the case then you can bemoan the lack of FW800 otherwise FW400 should be sufficient for the data you are moving.

    The fact that there is only a single FW port is a valid complaint however if you are pulling video off of a camera to an external drive since you are now stuck with one port to do the task (however if the hub is smart enough to basically connect the source directly to the disk then you don't have a problem here either).
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #17
    I get up to 60MB/s (~55MB/s sustained) on my single drive configuration that I use as a scratch disk for my pro apps.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #18
    Even that only barely exceeds 400 Mb/s of FW400. In our testing at work we had a hard time breaking 50 MB/s on a single drive and were usually stuck closer to 30, but all of this was on Intel based boxes with Windows/Linux (We don't support Macs ... Yet).

    We have noted massive inefficiencies in the Intel architecture when it comes to moving data in Memory so it's possible that some of these inefficiencies are still existent in the new Intel chips making FW800 a pointless endeavor since you'd never be able to saturate even half of the available bandwidth...
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #19
    15 years? are you kidding? I guess they should probably have kept floppy drives on all the powerbooks too?
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #20
    It was (obviously) somewhat of an exaggeration. There are still plenty of places lacking a means of adsl though. Hotels generally have a (incredibly expensive) ADSL service, but smaller motels and holiday apartments don't. Most don't even have the possibility of lugging your own adsl modem up there.
     
  21. adk
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #21


    I'm not necessarily mad that it's gone, All I have for FW800 is one HD, and it can also use FW400. The reason I'm shocked is because Apple has been touting FW800 as the future.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #22

    Yeah say that again when you are out on business and your company puts you in a hotel with no hi speed access. OH CRAP!
     
  23. macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #23
    I can understand this would how and why this would annoy people. However I really don't think it's that bigger deal - I'm yet to come across anything able to utilise FW 800 anyway.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #24
    Well its not that big a deal for me as I have no firewire 800 anything. But firwire 800 is backward compatible with firewire 400. IMHO they should have axed firewire 400 and provided an adapter. Makes sense huh?
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #25
    Cost cutting! Period. Well apple has been cutting corners anyway... so a big surprise? :eek: :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page