firewire 800

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by robosays21, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. robosays21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #1
    hey
    if i transferred my video from my camera through firewire 800 rather than 400... would the video have better quality? can anyone show me maybe a side-by-side screenshot maybe of the two?

    thanks
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    The quality is exactly the same. The only thing that's different is that 800 transfers the data faster than 400.
     
  3. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #3
    Speed Will Only Be 400 Because the Camera Is 400

    Not when it's coming from or to the camera. the camera is 400. So the speed will be 400 even though you're using the 800 port. Speed is determined by the slowest device on the bus.
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    I'm not a big DV person, so I'm a bit ignorant here. Are there no video cameras with FW800?
     
  5. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #5
    Camcorders with a Firewire port are typically FW 100 devices.

    For more FW info, see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firewire#FireWire_400

    -DH
     

Share This Page