Firewire Internet being fickle

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 7on, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #1
    At work I share my internet connection with a G5 tower to my Macbook (I prefer to have my Mail sync with my personal computer and not with a machine anyone at the university can access). Anyway, whenever I reboot my macbook (which has been frequent, come on 10.4.8 :D) I cannot for the life of me get the internet back up. It works fine before a reboot, I get blazin' fast internets - probably economy tubes. However, with a reboot I guess my tubes get all clogged and I can't get it to work again. Any advise to unclog the tubes?
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    First, i'm suspicious of this blazin' fast internets thing. Are you running your tubes in parallel? It needs to be a series or all the bits will clog the plugs. If you're lucky you can work them out with a wire brush and soap, otherwise you'll need new tubes.

    More seriously, you say it does work before a reboot, but somewhere in time you must have booted and got it working. What contortions are you going through to get the connection started before your MacBook needs a reboot? Also, is this a graceful shutdown or hard crashing on the MacBook?
     
  3. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    Well rebooting the G5 will get the firewire sharing working again and I turn it off at the end of the work day. I don't like rebooting the G5 because I'm usually working on it. If I have to do something to "Reset" the G5's network sharing then I could do that. I've tried turning off internet sharing/turning it back on, unplugging the FW cable, and unplugging the ethernet on the G5. I even plugged the ethernet to the macbook and tried to share the FW to the G5 - that time the MB got internet but not the G5. In all cases rebooting the G5 gets it back to work.
     
  4. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    Well This past weekend I've had to reinstall the OS to fix a different problem and apparently this internet fickle-ness has gone away.

    Or someone poured liquid plumber on the G5 and that cleaned the tubes. either/or
     
  5. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #5
    Oh, that's where this thread went! I actually tried this (FW LAN) with some machines running Tiger and couldn't reproduce it. Of course, I'm always careful to use Teflon tubing and hooked up a bleach drip to prevent algae growth.

    The aggravating part about problems that get fixed by a reinstall is that you never really know what was clogged in the first place :(
     
  6. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6
    Indeed.

    If it's any help here's how it's set up on the G5
    [​IMG]
    And here's the macbook
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page