FireWire Ipod cable and MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'iPod' started by enter360, May 5, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Hello World,


    I have a new Macbook Pro and a 4th Gen iPod touch. I am tired of taking so long to sync my iPod so I did some research and found a firewire 400 cable for an iPod and an adaptor from firewire 400 to 800. When I plug the iPod in to my MBP iTunes doesn't read the iPod. It does not show up any where. On the screen I get a warning that charging is not supported with this accessory. Other than that nothing happens. Does anyone know what could be going wrong ?


    On a side note my iPod is a 64GB model and only shows 58GB capacity is that normal ? If not does anyone know how to do a master reset to get back to factory state ?

    I have my iPod backed up so reseting it does't bother me if I can get the firewire issue fixed.
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Firewire connectivity was removed/disabled years ago. You need a USB cable.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #3
    57.8GiB is perfectly normal. It all has to do with the way the bytes are counted. Binary counting leads to a Kibibyte with 1024 bytes. Decimal counting a Kilobyte has 1000 bytes. Scale up to the Gibibyte and Gigabytes and the apparent difference magnifies, but it's entirely illusory.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_prefix
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    The Firewire compatible iPods are the 1st to 4th Gen and the iPod Mini.

    After that most charge via Firewire but require USB to sync with a host computer. Everything from the last few years is USB only and gives the "charging is not supported with this accessory" message.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Thanks for the explanation guys. incase anyone was wondering it doesn't work with iexplorer either.
     

Share This Page