Firmware problem Running BootCamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by number9, Jun 30, 2006.

  1. number9 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Ok, So I am trying to run the Boot Camp Assistant and when I open the software it tells me that i need to update my firmware first. I understand this message, except for the fact that my iMac got the Intel SMC firmware update and is completely current with all updates. I even went so far as to download the update again, and run it. When i run the update it says I do not need the update. So, I'm kind of lost as to what I should be doing now...
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. number9 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    thanks! I actually just found that on apple's support page
     
  4. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Do you have a link for the macbook firmware update? My keyboard isn't being read.
     
  5. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Don't think the MacBook needs a firmware update for bootcamp.
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    No macbook doesnt need one. It has all the latest firmwares installed at factory level...
     
  7. FrancisSawyer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    #7
    That won't work either.

    The problem in all these threads is that people have only tried one of the two firmware updates from the Apple site, and then someone suggests that the other one will solve the problem. Then that's the end of it.

    Well, IT WON'T.

    You can try the "SMC" (totally unexplained, by the way) one or the larger one, and you'll have the same problem. Neither of the two firmware updates will correct the bullcrap message from BootCamp Assistant saying that your firmware needs updating.
     
  8. iCeQuBe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #8
    Which MAC are you trying to install bootcamp on? If it is an Intel iMac then the firmware update 1.0.1 will work and get rid of the message.
     
  9. greenbastard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #10
    So how do I get rid of that message, because I have tried both firmware updates and both say that I don't need to update. Why is bootcamp telling me to update when I can't update?
     
  10. greenbastard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #11
    I tried installing firware update 1.0.1 - says I don't need it. Still can't run boot camp. I'm a new mac user, can someone tell me what to do? I tried a firmware restoration but the light didn't flash like it was supposed to during start up and it beeped loudly at me. Why is everything against me?
     
  11. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #12
    If you're positive your firmware is up to date you could always try re-downloading and re-installing the bootcamp assistant.

    Couldn't hurt.
     
  12. greenbastard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #13
    Right now my boot ROM version is IM41.0039.B00. I know this is wrong. I need IM41.0039.B03 don't I? And my SMC version is 1.1f5. I need a different version don't I? Why won't it let me update these? Also, i'm running 10.4.7.
     
  13. erlking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #14
    aaargh!

    i'm having the exact same issue as greenbastard. it tells me i am up to date on all firmware, won't let me install the april 17 or the more recent one, but still won't open bootcamp assistant.
     
  14. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    Put a Windows CD in the drive, then reboot while holding Option and see whether it lets you boot from it.
     
  15. KamikazeH20mln macrumors newbie

    KamikazeH20mln

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #16
    I will also have to try the Option trick.

    I had updated my firmware drivers before, was able to bootcamp, but my mac OS got screwed up from Crossover for Mac Alpha 2 and Parallels conflicting, so I reformated the entire drive (since I was messing around testing bootcamp on the win xp partition also...).

    Now I have 3 qty of 30 GB partitions...1 for work OS X, 1 for virtualization Mac OS X testing with Crossover, and another set aside for bootcamp unformatted. all were created with the Mac OS X install disk utility program.

    I also get the "firmware is up to date" message from the firmware downloads, but bootcamp 1.1 complains it is not. is this due to the multi partitions? or just bootcamp being stupid about the firmware update actually being there?
     
  16. KamikazeH20mln macrumors newbie

    KamikazeH20mln

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #17
    Doing option for me nuked both of my Apple boot sector. Win XP detected the seperate partition made for it, but asked to delete it and reformat it. Apple disk check from the install CD's no longer sees those paritions anymore since Windows did MBR *sighs* Glad I didn't do much work on them.

    Reformatting again with a single Mac OS X sector, then bootcamping.
     

Share This Page