first apple and totally clueless g5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tsar nate, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #1
    to cut a long story short i have just got an apple g5 desktop (not brand new) as far as i know its a 2.7gig machine with 2x512 sticks of ddr ram
    i havent got a mac keyboard or mouse i have no idea if the pc mouse and keyboard will work

    so i turn it on hear the chime and the grey screen comes on and the apple logo, sometimes it follows through and has a rotating icon and goes to the desktop most time it just does nothing but stay on the apple logo

    i have no idea of what the problem is and i have a max os x cd that will not boot up if i hold the "c" key down after the chime, also holding "shift" key down after the chime wont let me boot into safe mode

    the one time i got onto the desktop it froze after around 3 minutes

    is there anything i can so as all the things i have searched for thus far just lead me to more confusion. I am a total novice when it comes to apple computers and any advice or help would be great

    if you need any info about what its doings (or not doing in my case) please let me know i will try to give you as much info as i can


    all i want is a running computer :confused:
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #2
    Is that a burned OS cd? It definitely sounds like you're going to need to reinstall
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    The Mac will work fine with almost any PC based mouse or keyboard first off.

    I do have one question based on your note about the C key not booting to disk, etc-- is the keyboard you are trying to use corded or cordless?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #4
    they are both corded and i have an install disc i got it to pop up once at the desktop but then the inevitable freeze lol still stuck with this :(
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #5
    well i managed to keep it on for 5 minutes this morning and found out its a dual 2.7gig with 512 of the original ram and the admin name is harry harper i dont know the password so i cant run the install from the desktop and when i restart im back to square one with the apple logo, i might be able to get the password on monday but im sure it will just crash before it gets thru an install

    question can i just pop any old sata 150 hdd in there and try a new install on that ?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #6
    still stuck here guys non of you mac genius' able to solve this problem ?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #7
    don't know if only 512k RAM is any kind of issue here - others might.

    Re any old sata hdd - pretty sure thats a yes and of course will let you keep whatever data/apps are on the original boot disk.

    Thing is - if you cant boot from the Mac OS DVD - you might have other hardware probs.

    I'm assuming the disc is valid for that machine - it might say something on the disc itself to let you know. Mac's usually (always?) come with a Mac OS disc specific to that machine only.

    If it's valid then I think there should be some sort of hardware test on the DVD that you can run.

    I'd start there before spending time on making another boot disc. Of course if it's not a valid Mac OS disc for that machine then you likely can't create another boot disc from it anyway.

    Don't take all of the above as an expert opinion - just someone trying to help :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #8
    ok so here it goes i cant boot from cd and get to the setup stage it will select the drive i want to install on and will crash during first stage between 50% and 79 % i have never got further thatn that so when it crashes i leave it on for about 40 mins then turn it off and try again
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #9
    Try running the hardware tests from the CD. It sounds like you might have a bad stick of ram.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #10
    nope not the ram i put 2 sticking in that were working perfect i am suspicious of the hdd but i dont have a spare to test it


    aww im so stuck
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #11
    if you bought it used, contact the seller. Maybe ask for a return.

    Or you dont want to do that, take it to the apple store and explain your situation. You might come of as a thief! ;p if
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #12
    You added all the RAM? Did you put in the right stuff? It's only supposed to work with PC3200 sticks.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #13
    Could be a dead HD if its crashing on the Select Drive step. Try holding down an Option (alt) key at the startup to select the Install DVD, then when it boots select Reset Password from the Utility (?) menu. After this, reboot and try to launch OS install from within the installed system using your new password.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #14
    yes i put a different pair of matching pc3200 ram in lol still the same

    i am leading to think it is but i have no other hard drive to test it

    then again would it do this if it thinks its getting to hot i.e. a fault thermostat ?

    after 10-15 mins it may crash so maybe its that if so how do i solve it ?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #15
    ok theres a new thing this time

    i removed the clear plastic cover on the inside of the case and put the silver one closed

    ran the install disc HEY PRESTO full install, then its asks to reboot..........BOOTS .........blue folder with ? flashes and the goes back to reinstall on disc

    so i think i have solved 2 problems

    when the clear cover is off the fans spin a little faster and the mac never crashes (over heat?)

    the harddrive might be dead as it wont boot from it after a fresh install

    any one got a free spare sata hard drive going :D:D:D:apple:
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #16
    SUCCESS its was simple i borrowed a new hard drive and voila its ALIVEEEEEEEEE:apple:

    THANK YOU TO ALL WHO POSTED HERE
    thats for your support i am now happyly typing this post on my lovely new(ish) WORKING power mac g5


    i hope my new mac experence is going to be a good one :D:D:D




    P.S. still looking for a free hdd as this one is not mine :D:apple::p
     
  17. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #17
    You asked the question at 3:43am in the morning. Sorry I was a sleep.
    Not everyone lives in your time zone. Wait about 24 hours for the Earth to rotate before you complain.

    Yes the Mac uses plain standard parts. It sounds to me like you have a hardware problem. Maybe bad RAM? You first step should be to erase the disk and re-install everything. If you can't do that then suspect a hardware problem. Take out one RAN stick then swap them. Borrow or buy a know good one.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #18
    Is that one of the watercooled ones? Maybe its got a slow leak..or its already leaked its fluid out before and its now crashing because its overheating.... Not sure. All I know is that apple should have never made anything watercooled :)
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #19
    3.5" drives are relatively cheap. Just spring for a 250gig drive for $50.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #20
    it probably isn't the drive, you should be able to boot off a cd. most likely its a corrupt stick of ram. Try using a bootable linux distribution and running the ram test.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    FightTheFuture

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    that town east of ann arbor
    #21
    hm. if it were bad memory wouldn't you hear the 'bad ram tones' before you get to the apple logo? i suppose it's different on a powermac. it definitely seems like you had a bad drive since every time you booted from cd and attempted to install osx it crashed before you added the new one.

    sounds like your strapped for cash but when you get a new harddrive, you might want to fill your memory slots up to 4GB. there are good deals on dealram. there's nothing like running osx on 4-8GB!
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #22
    DUDES CAN YOU NOT READ ABOVE I FIXED IT WITH A NEW HARD DRIVE ITS FINE :D
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #23
    Funny thing about computers and buses and things on the bus. A malfunctioning harddrive can do all kinds of things. I have even seen a machine not POST because of one (the controller card on the drive it self was causing the bios POST to crash instead of fail).
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #24
    +1 to that. If you really want free, watch your local craigslist.
     

Share This Page