first kernel?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by celebrian23, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. celebrian23 macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #1
    I was about to get off my mbp and as I always do I reduced the brightness and turned off airport and boom...it told me I had to restart. Should I be worried? I've only had this computer a month...
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I usually let it go if it's a one-off but take note of what you were doing or have changed recently in case it happens again. It'll make the troubleshooting easier. :)
     
  3. cherry38 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #3
    Run the hardware test, if any errors show up take it up with Apple. Have you added any memory lately? If so that could definitely be the culprit.

    If it happens again, regarldess of the hardware test, I would get if fixed/replaced by Apple. None of my macs have ever kernal panicked unless something was wrong with the hardware.
     
  4. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #4
    I had one in the past week. I wasn't doing anything out of the ordinary. I'm not too worried about it. But if it happens again, I'll be sure to run some tests.
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Have you run any updates? Is this happening often?


    Kernel Panics make me panic, especially the day you just traded your computer!!:eek:

    But it turned out to be my crappy wireless usb adapter (dwl-122) that kept freezing my damn computer that I just got...
    Code:
    
    
    SON OF A *****!!

    As soon as I hit reply, I got a kernel panic!!!
     
  6. celebrian23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
  7. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #7
    Roedd cd gyda chi gyda eich cyfrifriadur. Defnyddio y cd. Ad-ddechrau a pwyso 'c'.
     
  8. celebrian23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #8
    Doesn't that reinstall tiger? :confused:
     
  9. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #9
    Nope... there is a Hardware cd and there is a restore/install cd. Some do actually have both install and hardware cd... in which case, pressing C should come up with a menu asking whether you want hardware or install.
     
  10. celebrian23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun

Share This Page