First MAC -- buy powerbook or wait

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by DJ Forge, May 21, 2004.

1. DJ Forge macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

First off I'm a college student so money is tight. I am a DJ and producer and currently use my pentium based system for music stuff.

However, I am about to be on a tour (crosses fingers), and I'll need a laptop beatmaking away from home.

I work at my college bookstore and we have a new powerbook we need to sell before we can order our new demo models. The specs on the powerbook are as follows:

12"
    1 Ghz
    256 MB ram
    60 GB HDD
    combo drive
    airport extreme

the price is $1299

a friend of mine who is a mac user says I should probably wait until macworld in july (i think that's the event) because I maybe be able to pay less after that.

As for what I need to run on the laptop, Logic Pro seems like what I would be using, along with a Firewire audio interface...

what do you think? if not this powerbook what are your recomendations. I'm trying to stay under $2000 :)

Thanks in advance!

2. Apple of my eye macrumors member

It's not that great of a deal. Check out these Apple Store Special Sale Deals

Refurbished PB 12" 1GHZw/ superdrive 1299
    Refurbished PB 12" 1GHZw/ combo 1199

But stay away from the PB 12" if you want to do any VJ stuff, the video card is weak.

Amazon has this great deal on a brand new Power Book 15.2" for 2149 ( tax free, free shipping ) Specs as follows:

Apple PowerBook Notebook 15.2" M8981LL/A (1.25-GHz PowerPC G4, 512 MB RAM, 80 GB Hard Drive, DVD-R/CD-RW Drive)

3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

They were just updated, now is the time to buy.

4. thirteen1031 macrumors 6502

thirteen1031