First mac, its second hand

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lee.anderson, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. lee.anderson macrumors regular

    lee.anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    hi im new here.
    i have been an apple fan for ages but have never owned a mac, i have an ipod tho.
    My friend is giving me a powerbook g4 titanium. im really excited to getting it.
    my concern is that first the bottom right part of the laptop has paint missing and gives off a static shock, is that dangerous. And second is it to old to run tiger and front row?
    thanks:)
     
  2. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    Yeah the shocking does sound dangerous. You could use touch up paint to paint the flaked parts or duck tape it. All titanium machines can run Tiger & Front quite well.
     
  3. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
  4. lee.anderson thread starter macrumors regular

    lee.anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    thanks for your reply. im so excited about getting my first mac.
    Im really not sure how much ram it has. The person im getting it off isnt really any good with specs and stuff so he doesnt know. I do know he paid alot for it when he bought it.

    Isn't there different versions of the titanium laptops faster ones and slower ones, because it seems fast when i have used it, its very responsive, but he bought it years ago. So does that make any difference with front row and tiger (sorry if this questions already been asked). Im so glad i wont have any viruses and it wont crash. :) :) :)
     
  5. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #5
    Yes, it makes a difference. You will probably find it painfully slow. You can send it to me at the following address....
     
  6. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #6
    he is jking...i hope
     
  7. lee.anderson thread starter macrumors regular

    lee.anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    ive just found out what specs the powerbook has. Its got 800MHz 512ram. So would that be sufficient enough to run tiger? thanks:)
     
  8. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #8
    Yes, that enough to run Tiger - although if you want to really make it go all speedy, put 1GB of RAM in it.

    Secondly, Front Row does not come installed with Tiger. Its a feature only available on certain older Generation Macs, and all the new ones (except the Mac Pro) - as the computer needs a built in infra red (IR) receiver.

    You can't just buy one, either - as it doesn't work.

    However, you can 'make' it work on your system - download it, and along with it (on this site) is an application/program that makes the computer think it has the right hardware (the missing IR receiver). Letting you install it :)

    You can control Front Row with your Bluetooth mobile phone, keyboard, or purchase a Keyspan remote control - The Apple one will not work.

    Oh, welcome to Mac.. and heres that site. Click me.
     
  9. lee.anderson thread starter macrumors regular

    lee.anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Just replying on my new mac. It's brilliant, it runs tiger well, and front row. The whole os is easy and fun to use. :) :) :)
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Glad you like it! Congratulations and welcome to the family! :)
     

Share This Page