First Time Buyer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by RobbieL, Jan 15, 2007.

1. RobbieL macrumors member

Yes, it's true. I'm a Mac virgin. Been a PC user all my life, mainly due to a PC Gamer, but have always wanted to get into the Mac side of things. I'll keep my PC for all my games, but will use the Macbook as my main source of all things computer related.

Anyway, there are a few things I'd like to get clear before I take the dive I purchase a Macbook. Firstly, I'm a student in the UK currently studying at University. Now I noticed that Apple offer three seperate types of Educational discount. I'm not entirely sure which one I'm eligable for, but I'm assuming it's Higher Education. Is that right? Also, is there a big difference in the discount price each type receives?

Secondly, I've been hearing that Leopard will be making an appearence soon. I would like to get the Macbook sooner rather than later, but would it make more sense to wait till the release of Leopard before I make my purchase?

Thanks for your time, much appreciated.

2. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007

Hi RobbieL, congratulations first of all on your decision to buy a Mac- you will not be disappointed- I switched ~1 1/2 years ago and have not looked back since. :)

The higher education discount is the one that you want to use (all educations discounts should be about the same).

Leopard is slated to be released sometime in Spring, but if you need/want a new MacBook now, I would not hesitate to pick one up. You can always upgrade to Mac OS X 10.5 (aka Leopard) later (albeit for an additional charge). :)

3. AnDi86 macrumors 6502

hey man your in the same boat as me!! i making the dive myself but i think i shall wait to leopard comes out and then use my higher ed discount!!

4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx