first time mac buyer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by poomoo, Jun 5, 2006.

1. poomoo macrumors newbie

Jun 5, 2006
    im making the switch from ps to mac and am looking for some advice.

im a web designer and have used laptops and tft screen before when designing. i have found that text is blurred or not as crisp as on crt's. this is particuarly a problem with fireworks and photoshop.

also, light greys and light gradients are sometimes not visible on pc laptops. is this the case with the new macbooks?

finally, i am happy to get the macbook but am concerned that it only has a 13inch screen. appart from the larger screen size of the mac book pro (and its backlit keyboard) there seems very little need for me to get a pro.

reading other threads here you guys seem to say that the main difference is the graphics card which will only benefit gamers and 3d animation/rendering. i dont plan on doing either of this on the mac book but would probably be doing film editing with adobe premier. would the mac book be able to handle that or should i really be looking to get the pro version. in all i would say 5-15% of my time would be working with video.

are any of you guys web designers/developer who can comment on any of these issues?

2. Carl Spackler macrumors 6502

Carl Spackler

Apr 12, 2005
    Outer Space
    I've never noticed this on an Apple LCD. I'd suggest finding a page that does this then browsing to it at your local seller of Macbooks.

Doubtful. Apple uses a different Gamma setting as default from Windows. For my web design I set a "Mac" and a "Windows" profile in my Display Preferences that I'll switch between to determine if my images will look equally pleasing on both.

I played with one at my local Apple store and found there to be plenty of screen room to do most work, you could always get an external monitor to go with it.