First time Mac user, Macbook needs help !!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macnoviz, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #1
    I just got a Macbook (first Mac after years of PC agony) but I can only use my Lacie Porsche 200 GB Hard drive to read files from, not writing to it.
    I formatted it in NTFS, to avoid the 4 GB file limit of FAT32 (using it for large .avi files) could this be the problem? Any solutions?

    I'm also trying to set up a WiFi connection between a PC with broadband internet and Wireless PCI card, and my Macbook (airport) I have an airport express station, but the internet comes via USB, can anybody tell me if it's possible to share internet from the PC?

    P.S. I'm also having trouble with the superdrive, I can't seem to write with it, but I think I'll call Apple support for that, as the problem is difficult to describe


    Despite the problems (I thought I heard mooing the other day, but hey, I'm not whining about that;) ) I'm totally in love with it.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    1. Yeah as MS doesn't release the source code for NTFS you cannot write to it with a Mac, you'll need to reformat as FAT32, or HFS+ (the mac standard format) and use Macdrive to share it with PC's, the solution I have with my 250GB HD is that I've split my drive into a 125GB PC disk and 125GB Mac HFS+ disk.

    2. No AFAIK, its impossible though the Mac should be able to share with the PC, you can set it up in the sharing control panel.

    3. No idea. You could try different disk's other than that call Apple.
     
  3. designed macrumors 6502

    designed

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    PC can share the broadband connection via WiFi, no problem there. I did it for years. Assuming that you have Win XP (I think Professional is a minimum but not entirely sure on that) you could try i.e. this guide (which looked about right to my eye). But it's possible with just about any OS after Win 98 SE.
     
  4. A is for Apple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #4
    Bear in mind, at FAT32 format, you can't transfer files over 3.2GB (may be wrong on file size) but with HFS you are not limited. Handy if you want to back up your entire HD or like my boyfriend, have large capture scratch folders.

    Cath.
     
  5. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #5
    Isn't that 4 GB? I sure hope so, because I edited my .avi files to fit in less than 4 GB. Of course, in storage space, you have to take some numbers with a pinch a salt, like my 60 GB hard drive is just 55 GB, and my 200 GB external hard drive is apparently only 182 GB, as for my iPod mini of 4 GB, I can store 3,7 GB
     
  6. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #6
    Thanks a lot, guys, I just found a solution to my internet problem, by using a modem that autmatically distributes internet to the computer via WiFi, (OS-independant)

    I will format the hard drive to FAT32, so no problems there thus far

    The Superdrive is my only problem left, but I will take it to a service center, it's probably a hardware problem.


    I also want to say that this is my first post on a macintosh, and the third site I visited with a Mac (yes, I know, hooray for me :D )
    Also the first thing to come on the internet from this very nice Mabook, hopefully not the last !!

    I would take a screenshot, or something, but since I don't know how, I'll wait a bit
     
  7. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #7
    You get a free app from Apple that does that! It's in your programm folder and then in the folder Helpprograms (freely translated from Dutch! :D ). There is a little app that has an icon with a scissor on it.
     
  8. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #8
    screenshots are easy, just press command+shift+3 and the picture will appear on your destkop :D
     
  9. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #9
    Or Command+shift+4 and drag to take a snapshot of a region of your screen.

    Or Command+shift+4, then hit space to take a screenshot of one window (or icon, or menu) at a time.

    All screenshots taken will appear on your desktop named Picture 1, Picture 2 etc..
     
  10. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #10
    Don't bother, I speak Dutch, I'm from Flanders, and yes, I now know how to do it, it was really more of a retorical question, or an ironic statement

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page