Fisher Price Kid tough camera connection

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by davidarb, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. davidarb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    #1
    Just got the Fisher Price Kid tough camera...says its MAC compatible even though the software that comes with it is PC only.

    In any case, I plugged it in via USB and the camera seems to know its connected (the screen says USB on it) but iPhoto doesn't see it and I can't see it as external device like a USBkey drive (thought I could manually copy the files off it).

    Anyway, kid is freakin' and I'm almost to the point of (gasp) connecting it to my work Win laptop.

    Anyone been able to connect this camera to their Mac and if so, any tips?

    Thanks,
    David
     
  2. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #2
    It should work. Try rebooting. If no luck connect it to your laptop to make sure the USB cable is good.
     
  3. thedude110 macrumors 68020

    thedude110

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    #3
    Did some quick googling and it seems others have been able to move the files ok (though I'm not sure if they've been doing so through iPhoto). Definitely check your cable.

    Would love to see some of the pictures your kid took.
     
  4. davidarb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    #4
    It works now...

    It was the USB cable. I was using the same that I use for my "real" camera since its the same connects and was already plugged into the back of my iMac. Mine had the filters on the end (round capacitors) I guess for screening noise. When I switched and use the regular cable that came with the camera kids camera, it worked!!

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    As an aside, when I plugged it into the USB on my keyboard, I got a "Voltage Too Low" message. Not sure what that was about. I plugged it into the USB port on the back of iMac and it was fine.

    At least it worked...crisis averted.
     
  5. ready2switch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #5
    I think the voltage message is because the usb port on the keyboard isn't powered the same as the computer ports. I know in my iPod materials it says not to use the ports on keyboards (I assume for charging purposes it wouldn't work correctly).
     
  6. brazil68 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    #6
    Fisher price camera

    I had the same issue - using the USB from my camera and after the screen on the camera shows USB connection press the power button once and I Photo opens and pics are available...
     

Share This Page