OS X Fix for C&C 3:Tiberium wars flickering in fullscreen (works for all cider games)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by meme1255, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. meme1255, Dec 23, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #1
    Code:
     sudo sed -e 's/"fbobackbuffer" = "Y"/"fbobackbuffer" = "N"/' ~/Library/Preferences/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3\ Preferences/config 
    
    Insert this code into terminal and enter password. Now launch C&C 3 and your game should be OK! :)

    If you have different cider game, just replace /Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3\ Preferences with the game's you wish to fix preferences ;)

    Please report you experience! If you find a bug, please write me PM or quete this post.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #2
    Ladies and gents,

    I've got OSX 10.7.5 running and I tried to play C&C Tiberium wars and have also the same problem, flickering in fullscreen. I tried the solution given, that is to insert the code into terminal and relaunch C&C 3, but that did not do the trick. I've copied the code completely, even tried restart, but it did not help. Is there anybody who might know a solution?

    Thanks!
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #3
    Is [d3dgl] part of your config file looking as this one ? :



    [d3dgl]
    "anisotropictexturefiltering" = "Y"
    "vertexshaders" = "Y"
    "pixelshaders" = "Y"
    "pixelshaderslevel" = "2.0"
    "clipspacefix" = "Y"
    "fragmentoffset" = "Auto"
    "fixedprogram" = "Y"
    "rectangletextures" = "Auto"
    "dynamicvbo" = "Y"
    "indexvbo" = "Y"
    "fbo" = "Y"
    "glsl" = "M"
    "vertexshaderslevel" = "2.0"
    "floattextures" = "Y"
    "occlusionqueries" = "Y"
    "fbobackbuffer" = "N"
     
  4. Eduh, May 17, 2013
    Last edited: May 17, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #4
    Hi, I entered terminal, put the code, and this happened:


    I put my password, and then this appeared:


    (Aren't there spoiler brackets in this forum?)
    I Am Scared. Has anything serious happened to me? Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    No, you just changed one line in the config :)
    if you wanna revert:
    Code:
    sudo sed -e 's/"fbobackbuffer" = "N"/"fbobackbuffer" = "Y"/' ~/Library/Preferences/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3\ Preferences/config
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #6
    Ok, thank you so much.:)


    That being said, it didn't work.

    IT keeps stuck indefinitely like this:

    C&C-TW3 Mac Lion.png
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    To get error log right click on the game and "show package contents", then navigate to contents/Mac OS/ and run the cider.app, this should open a terminal window and list the log.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #8
    There is only one thing in that folder, an EA Game Register executable archive.
    There is no error log because there s technically no error; the screen just keeps unchanged like in the screenshot.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #9
    meme1255,

    You probably already mentioned this somewhere...
    How do you access the terminal to enter the code?
    I'm no computer genius, just love playing C&C3 and hate that it flickers like crazy with the new OS.

    Thanks for any help!!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #10
    a) Finder: /Applications/Utilities/Terminal
    b) Spotlight: Terminal
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    #11
    Doesn't work for me.

    Tried this with no luck! anything else i can do??

    MBP 10.7.5
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #12
    Mavericks not working for me

    Tried the fix on Mavericks not working here.

    It worked just fine in ML.

    Prosik
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    #13
    maverics issue cc3 doesnt working cider message

    I have tried suggestions in this page, tahnk you all,

    but it did not work on Maverics and cider regs are shown below

    """Last login: Sat Nov 9 16:10:29 on ttys000
    mac-MacBook-Air:~ mac$ /Applications/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/Resources/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/MacOS/cider ; exit;
    shm_path: /Users_mac_Library_Preferences
    Could not stat /Applications/Command and Conquer 3.app/Contents/Resources/Command and Conquer 3.app/Contents/Resources/transgaming/f_drive (No such file or directory), ignoring drive F:
    Invalid path 'c:\windows' for windows directory: does not exist
    Perhaps you have not properly edited or created your Wine configuration file.
    This is (supposed to be) '/Users/mac/Library/Preferences/Command and Conquer 3 Preferences/config'
    logout"""""

    Could you please help me how can i start my game, I have spent lots of time downloading please help
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    #14
    fixed on mavericks

    had the same problem on Mavericks too until about 10mins ago.

    I changed the "Y" to a "N" but it didnt work for me at first either, unless it was in windowed mode (cmd+enter), which is a pain.
    But i noticed that text edit had put in the auto "" marks which are in italics. If you copy "N" from another line, paste it and save, then it seems to work fine for me. So far. Hope this helps
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #15
    How it worked for me...

    Hello,

    The flickering stopped for me when I switched to windowed mode, using this command cmd+enter...so maybe it will work for others if they just press the cmd and enter buttons at the same time...but you will be in windowed mode...and yes I tried the terminal thing, but that did not work. I am pretty sure something is off about mavericks...anyways.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #16
    Solution that works on Mavericks

    1. Navigate to the Applications folder 2. Right click on the Command and Conquer 3 app and hit 'Show Package Contents' 3. Navigate to Contents -> Resources 4. Again, right click on the Command and Conquer 3 app and hit 'Show Package Contents' 5. Navigate to Contents -> Resources -> Preferences 6. Right click on the file named 'config' and open it with TextEdit 7. Find the line "fbobackbuffer" = "Y" and change the "Y" to a "N" 8. Save the file. 9. from the Finder, keystroke Shift-Command-G 10. Enter ~/Library/ (This opens user library). 11. also do the same to the ALL the 'config' file in ~/Library/Preferences/Command and Conquer 3 Preferences

    If it worked for me it will work for you
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #17
    Anyone know where this game is available online? I was in a nostalgic mood the other day and tried to find ANY C&C game available for download to no prevail. Maybe I just need to order a hard copy as I believe I saw that. Thanks
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    #18
    Works!

    That one works on iMac Mid 2011 27". You have to modify both config files.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    #19
    Im running mavericks , i did this , but i just can't find the config file in the library! it seems C&C don't created any file in the library preferences

    Im i at the right place??
     

    Attached Files:

  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    #20
    I know it's kind of an old thread, but I'm really freaking out right now. I launched C&C and got the flickering screen. I thought it was only a problem in the game so I didn't mind it. After quitting, the screen's still blinking/flickering and there seems to be a faint background of the game in the background of the screen even if the game is not active. Decided to removed the game and its files from applications folder but that didn't seem to solve the problem.

    Any thoughts? :)
    Thanks!
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #21
    CandyTree: Have you tried restarting Mac? Or at least relog? :)
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #22
    still flickering

    Hello
    i tried the terminal option and got this answer from the terminal
    :


    Last login: Tue Aug 19 00:51:00 on ttys001
    /Applications/Jeux/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/Resources/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/MacOS/cider ; exit;
    MacBook-Pro-de-Renaud:~ renaud$ /Applications/Jeux/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/Resources/Command\ and\ Conquer\ 3.app/Contents/MacOS/cider ; exit;
    shm_path: /Users_renaud_Library_
    err:font:ReadFontDir Can't open directory "/Applications/Jeux/Command and Conquer 3.app/Contents/Resources/Command and Conq"...
    Aug 19 00:51:53 MacBook-Pro-de-Renaud.local cider[3905] <Warning>: CGDisplayBaseAddress is obsolete and returning NULL for display 0x4272900
    Aug 19 00:52:24 MacBook-Pro-de-Renaud.local cider[3905] <Warning>: CGDisplayBaseAddress is obsolete and returning NULL for display 0x4272900
    MACCA_IOInputProc: buffer underrun
    logout

    [Opération terminée]

    I don't understand what that means ot how to fix that.
    Any idea?
    thank you
    renaud


    I changed the two places for the fbobackbuffer..and it works now.
    thank you
     

Share This Page