Fixing corrupt JPEGs

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by misfit356tsw, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. misfit356tsw
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #1
    Help I have corrupt JPEGs. The pictures show up fine in in thumbnail but when opened up in preview they only show half of the picture.
     
  2. CPLUSE
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    Help

    I am getting the same error. I cannot find a fix for them. Would someone please help. I really need to restore these picture or find a fix.
     
  3. xUKHCx
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Are these pictures still on the card?

    If so you can try using PhotoRec, it is free and the best piece of software I have used to recover pictures.
     
  4. nissan.gtp
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    I used Klix from Joesoft to recover a CF card, after trying several free ones. Klix worked brilliantly.

    Good luck.
     
  5. CPLUSE
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #5
    No this is on my harddrive. I'v had this file on my drive for a while. There where on a second drive. I had to do a reinstall, when i went back to look at the picture about 65% where like this.
     
  6. xUKHCx
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Just re read the page from PhotoRec and you can still use it

    I tried Klix when i lost a lot of pictures from traveling and it was good but PhotoRec sorted out so many more pictures + it is free, although not too user friendly.
     
  7. CPLUSE
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #7
    OK cool, i will try it tonight. Thank you again.
     
  8. CPLUSE
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #8
    Ok it finished. It grad allot of picture but i still get the errors i was getting before. Iv added a picture to show what I'm talking about. It funny i can see it fine in thumbnail, but any other program it shows grey or multi color garbage.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. xUKHCx
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #9
    The thumbnail data is at the begining of the file and it is common to be able to see the thumbnail on corrupted files. You could give other programs a try but sometimes you just have to accept that they are gone.

    Maybe someone else knows some other tricks
     

Share This Page