Flash 8 help

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Artful Dodger, Jun 22, 2006.

  1. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #1
    Hello, well as I was trying to get somethings done in flash 8 today I hit a wall. When I use the line tool to make an opject it will no longer let me fill it in with a color. Example, I made a table and then went to fill it with brown however it won't let me fill the part "brown". This didn't do this two days ago or even before lunch today, everything was fine and I'm at a loss as why it's acting funny.
    Aside from re-installing it any help would be great. I'm not sure what other info someone may need but an example is in my sig. of it working on my site as I do the same things day-in day-out with it. It might be something simple but i'm not sure :cool:
     
  2. Artful Dodger thread starter macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #2
    I think I have it now but it's still not right :cool: If I use the brush, pen, line tool to make an object, it groups it so I have to ungroup it to add color or even to adjust my shape/object. I think I hit something since I just got a new KB and mouse and the problem starts today, first day with said kb and mouse :cool: If anyone knows how to change the "auto grouping" please let me know while "I rub my head on a sharping stone©"
     
  3. ouphe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    If I understand you correctly, the solution could just be to 'break-apart' the line you are trying to recolor, then double-click it to select every little pixel of it. If you still need the line to be a symbol, you can break it apart and then re-symbolize it.
    Hope this helps.

    -Colin
     
  4. Artful Dodger thread starter macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #4
    Hi Colin, yeah that's what I finally did after a reinstall of it. I guess to make it easy though if I use the brush, make a cartoon head, select the paint bucket tool to fill the color, Flash has made the brush "outline" a symbol on it's own and thus it won't let me fill. I know in MX2004 I had to make it a symbol when I wanted (F8). This is how my day started yesterday and then after my new KB was plugged in it changed. I think I hit something but I sent an email to, well now Adobe about this to see if this is normal for Flash 8 to do this. If it is what a huge change and a pain to always break apart everything I draw :mad:
     

Share This Page