Flash not working on intel Mac OS X

Discussion in 'OS X' started by munkees, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #1
    I purchased a new iMac 20" intel, when I get to websites that are flash based they say that flashed not installed. so I follow the link to macromedia and install flash. It downloads the install program, I run it, it installs. Then I try to go to a new site and it says flash not installed. I click on that link it takes me to macromedia which then say web browser and platform not recognize.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You probably broke flash the first time you ran the installer. The installer installs fine but it installs a PPC flash plugin. Rosetta cannot translate plugins within Intel apps so flash cannot be loaded. You might get somewhere running Safari under Rosetta (get Info on Safari and click Open using Rosetta).
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    #3
    I've seen some people say they can, and some say they can't.. I just got a 20" Intel Mac and Flash was the first thing I tried.. it works, however I've not instlled Flash MX Studio..
     
  4. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #4
    That is most likely due to the fact that the recent version of Flash broke compatibility with Quicktime. A lot of Flash content that has been making it to the web in the last 6 to 9 months is no longer compatible with Quicktime the way older files were. This was a file format choice made by Macromedia (file format lock-in would best describe it actually).

    Older Flash content should work fine on your system... the newer stuff is going to have to wait for a native plug-in.
     
  5. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #6
    Thank you

    Thank you, fix the flash problem. I cannot wait unitl we get all the native versions of the plugins (I mean universal). Thanks:)
     
  7. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Thanks for that too. Flash broke when I installed Quark 7 beta... Your zip saved me :D :D :D :D
     

Share This Page