flash on Mac ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by itamar, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. itamar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #1
    hi,
    I'm thinking of buying a mac after working with a pc for years
    (probably a powerbook 15")
    I heard that there is a problem with flash on mac, is that true?
    how serious is it? it's my main tool.
    and just another thing, does anyone know if the flash communication server will be released for the Mac users? or is it just the server emulator that doesn't exsist???
    thanks
     
  2. itamar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #2
    isn't anyone uses macromedia flash on a Mac???
     
  3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #3
    I use Flash MX on my iBook G4 under Panther with no problems. Are you talking about the plugin or the actual program?
     
  4. Mantat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal (Canada)
    #4
    The problem you are refering to is an old performance issue. Its has been fixed a few months ago and now flash perform as fast as on the PC.

    If you get the 15"PB, get another screen so you could do dual screen editing, works very well for me!
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    Flash MX 2004 has just recently been patched and works pretty well.
     
  6. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #6
    I use Flash MX on my TiBook, it works fine for me, but I'm not a professional user. The screen is not nearly big enough for real work though, I had to use a second monitor to do anything with any of the Macromedia products. Their use of palletes is convienent, but requires a ton of screen real estate. You probably know that already though.
     
  7. itamar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #7
    that's good news, I kept hearing about certein problems with flash but nothing to specifi.
    what about flash communication server ? - I started to work with that and found it to be fascinating, as far as I undestand you can develope FC apps on a Mac but you can't test them - which makes it impossible to develope anything at all. anyone knows something I don't? , or is macromedia planning on a Mac version?
     

Share This Page